Old Skier
Tour Winner
More to the point, you would need 156 available so all players/caddies have the same opportunity.Without that COC, you could have 156 carts on the course.
More to the point, you would need 156 available so all players/caddies have the same opportunity.Without that COC, you could have 156 carts on the course.
They certainly moved players and caddies from green to tee by cart on some of the holes in the world Matchplay at the London Club last year so they can modify the rule if necessary
Disqualifying a player because he didnt know his caddie took a short ride on a cart.....how very Draconian. What purpose does that serve other than showing that golf, in some respects, still resides in the past?
Does the punishment fit the 'crime'?
Remember that the "crime" for which the penalty was a DQ was not that of the caddy hitching a lift on a cart. The penalty for that was 2 strokes. The player was disqualified for returning a wrong score.
Remember that the "crime" for which the penalty was a DQ was not that of the caddy hitching a lift on a cart. The penalty for that was 2 strokes. The player was disqualified for returning a wrong score.
And the common sense application of that penalty would be to add the 2 shots and tell him why, leaving him in the competition. Molinari claims he didn't know, so I'd be interested to know how the Tour found out in order to DQ him. I'd say there's potentially a huge difference between returning a wrong score and knowingly returning a wrong score.
http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/edoardo-molinari-disqualified-because-his-caddy-took-cart-tee
And the common sense application of that penalty would be to add the 2 shots and tell him why, leaving him in the competition. Molinari claims he didn't know, so I'd be interested to know how the Tour found out in order to DQ him. I'd say there's potentially a huge difference between returning a wrong score and knowingly returning a wrong score.
http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/edoardo-molinari-disqualified-because-his-caddy-took-cart-tee
And the common sense application of that penalty would be to add the 2 shots and tell him why, leaving him in the competition. Molinari claims he didn't know, so I'd be interested to know how the Tour found out in order to DQ him. I'd say there's potentially a huge difference between returning a wrong score and knowingly returning a wrong score.
http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/edoardo-molinari-disqualified-because-his-caddy-took-cart-tee
Surely there is an argument that they could have waived the DQ under 33-7 and allowed him to continues with the 2 stroke penalty applied.
Great post, I originally thought it was a dumb ruling but when broken down like this it makes a lot more sense.That wouldn't be a common sense application of the rule under which he was disqualified (Rule 6-5d) You are confusing the two separate events: the breach (riding on a cart) which attracted a 2 stroke penalty and the submission of a card where the score recorded was lower than than the correct score because the penalty was not included.
You need to argue either that there should be no penalty for using the cart - in which case there would be no point in having the COC and we are back to the possibility of 156 carts charging around the course - or, that there should be no penalty for returning a score lower than the correct score - which would have to apply to all instances of a breach of rule coming to light after a card has been returned.
That wouldn't be a common sense application of the rule under which he was disqualified (Rule 6-5d) You are confusing the two separate events: the breach (riding on a cart) which attracted a 2 stroke penalty and the submission of a card where the score recorded was lower than than the correct score because the penalty was not included.
So to avoid any further confusion, how do you add the correct penalty to your scorecard, that you are responsible for returning, for an infringement that you know nothing about?
You can't. You just get caught out if a breach of which you were unaware comes to light in some way after you have submitted your card.