why would there be a Major difference in Club head speed and ball speeds???

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
Looking at few of the recent fitting post in the last few weeks has got me thinking. I have no technical knowledge of swing dynamics etc so some help here from those who do.

I was recently at a demo day to try out some clubs and also had a shot with some other manufacturers clubs on a monitor.

On both those occasions, my club head speed was on Av 86 MPH but the ball speed was 109mph. No idea about any of the other info apart from the spin was 3500 to 4000.

Now I’m pretty straight, but I don’t get anything like the distances out on the course quoted on here for slower swing speeds or that I had on either of these monitors one of which was a trackman.

Any idea why this could be?

One thing it has shown me is that my club head speed has increased, as when I was fitted my Mizuno 4 years ago for my mp57 my club head speed was 70 ish.

Region3

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Are you asking why others appear to hit further for similar club speeds, or why you don't get your trackman distances on the course?

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site
Is that a 6 iron swing speed? Presuming so, then that is a pretty good swing speed and you should be carrying that 6 iron 170 yards or so, and if your driver speed is proportionate, would be in the 105 range and carry maybe 260 or so.

If you are not getting those distances, then maybe it would be worth investing in a lesson or tow to find a way of applying that power efficiently to the ball. The smash factor (ball speed/swing speed) is not great at 1.26, ans could be 1.35 with a 6 iron, so there seems to be some wasted effort in the swing and some lost yards to be gained.

Andy808

Tour Winner
Visit site