Spikeless Shoes in Winter

Ser Shankalot

Visit site
Me too. I have these in two old pairs I use solely for winter golf. I don't like spikeless shoes for winter golf. I never feel I am totally stable and have slipped in the wet with them before which only adds doubt.

I always thought metal spikes weren’t allowed on courses anymore....was that an incorrect assumption?

Mandofred

Visit site
So far, this is my first year spikeless in crap conditions......and so far it's just fine. Now granted.....I don't swing like a crazed violent cocaine taking caveman, so the twisting issues aren't a problem for me. If it becomes an issue....I'll switch back to spikes. But until then.....I'll just take my slow easy swing zzzzzzzzzzzzz huh? did I fall asleep in my backswing again??

sunshine

Visit site
Something perhaps to bear in mind when comparing the two types is that ‘most’ of the time the spike shoes will have equal or worse grip than spikeless. Can’t imagine I’m the only one to notice but soft spikes wear down far more quickly than the ‘tread’ on spikeless shoes does

The ‘better’ grip offered by soft spikes is pretty much gone after a few weeks

I understand what you're saying: soft spikes wear down more quickly than the tread / sole of a spikeless shoe. But to say the grip of spikes is gone after a few weeks is a massive exaggeration. I'm guessing it would take about 100 rounds to wear down the spikes, and then you can replace them if you want.

Unless you play golf on rough asphalt and drag your feet when you walk? I thought you used a buggy all the time anyway so hardly any wear at all?

Personally, given the amount I play it takes about 3 years for my soft spikes to get worn, there's no point replacing them as by this time the water proofing has gone and I'd never wear them in wet conditions when I need the extra grip.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site