Handicaps limits in Opens

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
When the new limit of 54 came in there was also a recommendation that the club should not (effectively) allow players to play in a competition where their handicap exceeded the limit. E.g. if the comp is limited to 20 a player with a handicap of 20.5 or higher cannot enter and play off 20.

Has your club adjusted their conditions of entry in this way?

Have you heard of other club's that have done this?

Parsaregood

Head Pro
Visit site
Handicap limits are very common, a lot of open competitions where limits are 2 etc and if oversubscribed will be balloted at a lower handicap. I'd imagine a 54 handicap playing in an open may very well struggle to keep pace of play, this is very much a complete beginner level

D

Deleted member 16999

When the new limit of 54 came in there was also a recommendation that the club should not (effectively) allow players to play in a competition where their handicap exceeded the limit. E.g. if the comp is limited to 20 a player with a handicap of 20.5 or higher cannot enter and play off 20.

Has your club adjusted their conditions of entry in this way?

Have you heard of other club's that have done this?
The advice from CONGU in the 2018 Q&A was as follows:

Open competitions, like internal competitions, can have any entry requirement the organisers consider appropriate. However, where CONGU® Handicaps are used they are subject to the mandatory Handicap Allowances shown in Appendix F. For a 4BBB competition, 90% allowance must be used for competitions of this format.

rulefan

Tour Winner
Visit site

Open competitions, like internal competitions, can have any entry requirement the organisers consider appropriate. However, where CONGU® Handicaps are used they are subject to the mandatory Handicap Allowances shown in Appendix F. For a 4BBB competition, 90% allowance must be used for competitions of this format.