Playing partner falsifying scores

A friend of my playing partner who has played with us on a few occasions is one for "finding" his ball when hit into deep rough or woods.

Always seems to get it "lying quite nice" and whacks it well up the fairway.

Loathsome behaviour and I now flat out refuse to play with him anymore.

Cant stand people that cheat like that, least of all in a social game.
 
Never attribute to malice that which can be easily explained by stupidity.
I have a mate who frequently miscounts his shots. He'll say, 'I got a 5 there' and I'll ask, 'did you?'. He counts his shots and he'll apologise as he got a 6.
He doesn't mean it it's just he's thinking too much about his game he forgets some shots.

I once had a psychologist explain why lower handicap players tend to know every shot of every hole that was played and he said it's cognitive ease. They need to think less about their shots etc so can focus on what everyone else is doing where as higher handicappers have so many things going on in their heads they are more insular when playing. I know that won't fit everyone but it seems to be the way for most people I know.
Sorry but unless they mess up their counting the other way too and say they have taken an extra shot occasionally I dont believe them that it's an accident.
 
I played with a bloke and his mate the other day, just a casual round but we'd never played together before. A couple of times I found myself counting back his shots and it being more than he claimed.

Also caught him dropping a ball at one point. Unfortunately for him his mate then found his actual ball about 60 yards back(he must have nearly hit the group on a nearby tee as they had kindly teed it up for him). Despite the course not being busy and him using Bridgestones, not the most common ball, he tried to claim it wasnt his.

As it was just a casual round I didn't say anything and just made a mental note to avoid his name on the competition tee sheets.
 
If he's doing it in your friendly rounds on his own card then I'd leave him to it. Only cheating himself, as others have said. If it's in a comp then whoever is marking his card has to handle it - normally if someone tells me they got a 5 and I know it was a 6 I'll just say "A 5? I thought you had a 6 - did you not have to chip out from the trees?" or whatever it was. Then they'll usually say "oh yeah sorry, you're right."
 
Back some 12 years ago I played with a guy who had a local B&B in one of the midweek medal s. I'd been warned to keep and eye on him as he had a bit of a rep. Torvean started with a par 3 of 175 yards, he doubled that bogey ed the 2nd, then had par on 3&4, before doubling the par 5 fith, before par bogey bogey through 8 holes, the course then went over the main road to par 3 ninth hole, while waiting he said I'm playing well that's me one under though 8!! He was off 9 so even net he was still well over, I went through his scores hole by hole and shot by shot with him, he had a fit.. Ranted a raging and walked of f saying I was cheating him out of his score. He didn't go to the club but just got in his car and was gone, trouble was he had my card and I was 1 under gross. Had to go to the club office and explain. Handicap se c happened to be there and told me I wasn't the first time this had happend to and he had a history of forgetting how many shots he had played. I had to wait for another 2 ball to come through to join and finish my round.
 
I've got a friend like this. He's also completely unaware of where his ball is ending up if it's not bang on the fairway. Every time I need to direct him. No no, it's WAY further right. No no, it's 50 yards further up. No no, it's 30 yards back. I think that the two are somehow connected in his case. He's just in his own world, but it is annoying nonetheless.
 
I think some people genuinely miscount on the odd occasion but if it was happening often, I would simply say to them that they need to be more careful with their maths.
 
I think some people genuinely miscount on the odd occasion but if it was happening often, I would simply say to them that they need to be more careful with their maths.

None of these people ever seem to accidentally add a shot through!
 
Not sure everyone who undercounts is "cheating". One of the guys I used to play with seemed to undercount everyones shots except his own! Would play in a comp make a bogey 5, and he'd say "4 for you?" Sigh, no was a 5. Once a round would be ok but he'd invariably think a low handicapper had had a par so if youd made bogey you had to correct him every time, on a bad day basically he'd be highlighting every bad hole as you came off the green. He never did understand when I used to joke that Id be off scratch if I let him mark my card in every comp
 
I could easily have been given a par 4 on our third last week.

'Great par' said one of the other three PPs. The others echoed his comment until I said, 'No , that is 5'

They had all played from the heather short and right of the green when I was long left and behind a mound. They thought my shot ,moving it a foot from an appalling , thick lie was a practice swing but could never have seen the ball move.

It is easy to cheat if no-one else can see your shot.
 
When I mentioned a PP cheating at Newark. He partnered his father. The short version is the apple never fell far from the tree. My partner was a member at Newark. We were talking in the 19th over some fantastic food. The other two had gone. My PP was livid. He said he has invited us three to his course and he has cheated him and insulted him for 18 holes. He said he would never ever play a round with him again and let everyone know at the pit what he was like.
Am not gonna lie, Ave put down wrong scores before and been gutted when ave realised, fortunately Ave never won owt, but I have done it a couple of times with the IG app going back and forwards from page to page.
On Sunday, I had a putt for a six from 2-3ft after my opponent had dropped his in for a six. I picked up. He thought it was for a half but he had a shot on the hole. He never realised He had won the hole. If I had not said owt, again it would be cheating.
 
Back some 12 years ago I played with a guy who had a local B&B in one of the midweek medal s. I'd been warned to keep and eye on him as he had a bit of a rep. Torvean started with a par 3 of 175 yards, he doubled that bogey ed the 2nd, then had par on 3&4, before doubling the par 5 fith, before par bogey bogey through 8 holes, the course then went over the main road to par 3 ninth hole, while waiting he said I'm playing well that's me one under though 8!! He was off 9 so even net he was still well over, I went through his scores hole by hole and shot by shot with him, he had a fit.. Ranted a raging and walked of f saying I was cheating him out of his score. He didn't go to the club but just got in his car and was gone, trouble was he had my card and I was 1 under gross. Had to go to the club office and explain. Handicap se c happened to be there and told me I wasn't the first time this had happend to and he had a history of forgetting how many shots he had played. I had to wait for another 2 ball to come through to join and finish my round.

That's appalling. He wouldn't of been in a state to drive home if he did that to me. The club is a joke for allowing him to get away with that on a regular basis!

I have called penalty strokes in board comps before when I accidently touched the ball on a practice swing, no one would ever have known but I did the right thing. Also happened in a match before and called a penalty on myself.

Golf is one of the few sports where integrity counts for everything.
 
I play every year in a (semi-)friendly comp of my lodge against another. There is one member of the other lodge who has a reputation for, let us say, a rather liberal understanding of the rules. One year he put his approach on a par 5 into the lake in front, dropped another and played onto the green. He then walked up to the lake, saw his ball in the bank, and then claimed he was able to cancel his last shot and drop in front of the lake instead. I was so flabbergasted I didn't say anything. Since then I have always said "I'm sorry, but the rules state...." and I have the R&A rules app on my phone ready. Unfortunately, as I am one of the few who will pull him up on things like this, I am always paired with him. TBF, he doesn't do the forgetting shots, leather wedge or dropping ball antics.

When I was a youngling learning the game, it was drummed into me that golf was a game of integrity, and that you were your own referee. You are entrusted with playing according to the rules, and you should be worthy of that trust.
 
I play every year in a (semi-)friendly comp of my lodge against another. There is one member of the other lodge who has a reputation for, let us say, a rather liberal understanding of the rules. One year he put his approach on a par 5 into the lake in front, dropped another and played onto the green. He then walked up to the lake, saw his ball in the bank, and then claimed he was able to cancel his last shot and drop in front of the lake instead. I was so flabbergasted I didn't say anything. Since then I have always said "I'm sorry, but the rules state...." and I have the R&A rules app on my phone ready. Unfortunately, as I am one of the few who will pull him up on things like this, I am always paired with him. TBF, he doesn't do the forgetting shots, leather wedge or dropping ball antics.

When I was a youngling learning the game, it was drummed into me that golf was a game of integrity, and that you were your own referee. You are entrusted with playing according to the rules, and you should be worthy of that trust.

Its surprising how many believe thay can actually do things like cancel the last shot if the find their original ball.
Or take a drop from rabbit scrapings whilst having to crawl under a bush to get their ball. Or my favourite, drop the ball where you like whilst taking relief from a path.
 
Its surprising how many believe thay can actually do things like cancel the last shot if the find their original ball.
Or take a drop from rabbit scrapings whilst having to crawl under a bush to get their ball. Or my favourite, drop the ball where you like whilst taking relief from a path.

Oh aye - Nicest Point of Relief :LOL:
 
Its surprising how many believe thay can actually do things like cancel the last shot if the find their original ball.
Or take a drop from rabbit scrapings whilst having to crawl under a bush to get their ball. Or my favourite, drop the ball where you like whilst taking relief from a path.

Is it a surprise though.

Even with dedicated, trained qualified referees most (all) sports have a variable and inconsistent quality of the decisions referees make
With a couple of hundred unqualified, untrained players refereeing their own game in a medal there is undoubtedly going to be a different quality of decision making, even without considering those players deliberately breaking rules

I doubt we could find even a single golf comp where all entrants would agree with every rules decision made that day without consulting the book (& not even then)
 
Mate of mine does it every week. He is a member at a club I've played at with him. Par 71 and a hard course. I went round in 88 first time I played it - was made up. He got '86' even though he gave up on the last 4 holes. We then play it again a few weeks after and the same theme happens. I got a few pars in a row and I'm on the green in 3 on a par 5 whilst he's taken 4 shots. Suddenly he makes a putt and he saves par.

I couldn't care less as he's only cheating himself and if he ever plays in a tournament he'll be in danger.
 
Top