DQ and score for handicap

Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
69
Don't know the answer as I am not on the R&A rules committee, but it could be to avoid the sceatio where a player tee's off, hits it out of bounds and then says, oh but hit from the wrong place. It is also consistent with hitting he ball from a wrong place anywhere else on the course.
Yes but would have thought that might be covered by rule 1.3 c (4)
 
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
69
Hitting the ball twice is an unavoidable accident; hitting the ball during a practice swing may be accidental but it is entirely avoidable; teeing it up in the wrong place and making a stroke is a result of a sequence of deliberate acts.
Suppose it depends on how you define "deliberate", "avoidable" and "unavoidable" Most breaches are "avoidable" and when you get to "deliberate" that's cheating to me which is a different matter from accidental altogether.
 
Top