What’s you involvement in the rules?

Jigger

Club Champion
Visit site
There’s obviously some very clever rules people on here and I love the fact that people kindly take a lot of time to pull out extracts for us amateur players as the rule book can be hard to navigate and understand at times. It has got me wondering what everyone’s involvement is with the rules?

Are you just a player with a keen interest, a club official or a referee even.

I’m just an amateur inputting to see if my understanding is right and giving my thoughts on several issues, which can sometimes be a bit controversial but is meant in the insterest to opening discussions. I don’t think our rules are bad but there are a few nuances that seem crazy at times in application in the amateur game.

Swango1980

Visit site
In my first few years of golf, I would sometimes play with people that would come across as Rules gurus, and sometimes be subject to penalty, or not be allowed to do something that would cost me. Examples of rulings made towards me, or others I heard made against others:

• Penalty for having a practice swing on the tee
  • Penalty for picking a rake out of a bunker before my shot, as my hand touched the rake as the rake touched the sand, thus technically in breach of testing the sand
  • Going to bag to get a provisional ball, and told I am not allowed to play a provisional as I have left the tee box
  • Somebody picking up in a medal (thought it was Stableford), and immediately told they are disqualified from the competition, instead of playing on under the appropriate penalty
  • Player slicing ball into driving range bay, going to retrieve their ball and the competition secretary disqualifying them for leaving the course during a round of golf