Soft and hard caps kicking in following re-rating

tobybarker

Active member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
410
Visit site
Well, la-di-da......wg have reset the low indexes so that the caps are not kicking in. But of a glitch in the system that nobody foresaw.

Something to bear in mind if you're course gets rerated.
 

wjemather

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2020
Messages
3,442
Location
Bristol
Visit site
Well, la-di-da......wg have reset the low indexes so that the caps are not kicking in. But of a glitch in the system that nobody foresaw.

Something to bear in mind if you're course gets rerated.
There is no glitch. The issue is the discrepancy in ratings - there would have to be massive course changes to result in such a huge difference. Resetting the low indexes hasn't addressed why it happened or verified that the new ratings are actually correct - on the surface, they do appear to be very low for that course.
 

tobybarker

Active member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
410
Visit site
It IS a glitch in my opinion.. ... If the rating is correct then the capping needs to be adjusted. They assure us the rating is correct.. they gully expect readings and slopes of other courses to change as and when they get done.unquote....
 

wjemather

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2020
Messages
3,442
Location
Bristol
Visit site
It IS a glitch in my opinion.. ... If the rating is correct then the capping needs to be adjusted. They assure us the rating is correct.. they gully expect readings and slopes of other courses to change as and when they get done.unquote....
Both old and new ratings can't possibly be correct unless the course has been significantly altered since the old rating without being re-rated at the time. The rating system simply hasn't changed that much.
 

nickjdavis

Head Pro
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
3,580
Visit site
Ours was re-rated a couple of weeks ago. Not sure we have heard anything back from the rating team yet....how long does it take normally?
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
15,244
Location
Yeovil
Visit site
Both old and new ratings can't possibly be correct unless the course has been significantly altered since the old rating without being re-rated at the time. The rating system simply hasn't changed that much.
I think you are missing Tobybarker's point

What he is saying is that if the course gets rerated historic hard and soft caps need to be reviewed. A glitch in that the system fails to do this automatically.
 

wjemather

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2020
Messages
3,442
Location
Bristol
Visit site
I think you are missing Tobybarker's point

What he is saying is that if the course gets rerated historic hard and soft caps need to be reviewed. A glitch in that the system fails to do this automatically.
Not at all. It is wrong to say there is a glitch in the system when the problem lies elsewhere. The system cannot be expected to correct for faulty data (in this case, the course ratings).

If correct, ratings will not change sufficiently to bring caps into play. There is no glitch in the system; there is either an issue with the old/new ratings that were/are wrong, or there has been an oversight by the club in changing the course without getting re-rated at the time.

Resetting LHIs does not address the root cause or ensure the new ratings are actually correct.
 
Last edited:

tobybarker

Active member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
410
Visit site
Not at all. It is wrong to say there is a glitch in the system when the problem lies elsewhere. The system cannot be expected to correct for faulty data (in this case, the course ratings).

If correct, ratings will not change sufficiently to bring caps into play. There is no glitch in the system; there is either an issue with the old/new ratings that were/are wrong, or there has been an oversight by the club in changing the course without getting re-rated at the time.

Resetting LHIs does not address the root cause or ensure the new ratings are actually correct.
We don't know if the rating is wrong. All I'm saying is that if the rating changes for whatever reason then the cap system should pick up the fact. Glitch.
 
Top