Notification of a handicap change and singles match disqualification

andyf

Visit site
Hi, last weekend I was disqualified by the captain and pro from a singles match as I played with the wrong handicap. I'm fairly new to this but I played a medal on Saturday morning and scored 90 off of a 19 handicap on a course with par 71. I then played on Sunday at 8am my singles match. Before I went out I checked the handicap noticeboard for any handicap changes but the results of the previous day were not up. I therefore played with my 19 handicap from prior to the medal. When I returned from the singles match, having won by 2 holes, I was told that I had been cut from the previous medal competition as the CSS was 73. Do I have any grounds for challenging the captain and pros decision?

D

Deleted member 15344

Well I think you have been wrongly DQ'ed

But you need to check with the handicap change was applied - if it was done whilst you were playing your match then I'm not sure how you are supposed to know you have been cut

You appeared to have done the right thing and checked the results and played of the handicap that was displayed before you went out

Would certainly contest the DQ

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
If the results weren't available, you don't know the CSS, so use the SSS.

If that gives you a cut, then DQ valid, otherwise appeal it! If Club don't accept that, appeal to Local Authority - who will tell Club what to do if necessary. Be diplomatic though!

No difference if results are published while you are playing or 2 days later.

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Not actually enough information for us to comment properly. You need to self cut yourself against the SSS. If the SSS wouldve seen you cut to 18 then technically they are correct but even if that is the case DQ'ing you from a matchplay comp seems a bit harsh imo.

chrisd

Major Champion
Visit site