Newbie in the deep end

YorkshireStu

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to golf and I'm after some fairly straight forward beginner's advice if possible, what couple of things to think about whilst starting off on my golfing journey.

I've played squash for 15 years at city and county level so handeye coordination and reflexes are great so hopefully there will be some transferable skills.

Some background, I'm 26 and keep being invited to work golf days and declining due to a lack of confidence, so I've decided to take the plunge and go for it. Sadly/luckily this has landed me with a work golf trip to Gleneagles in 4 months time. Practice needed!

I've got a good deal on some clearence Taylormade clubs and after some extensive reading bought a 4 and 5 Hybrid from the Cobra FlyXL range to supplement them.
A colleague mentioned it would be a good idea to drop the Taylormade 3 Hybrid for a Cobra FlyXL 3 Hybrid for consistency of hybrid club/swing etc. Thoughts anyone?

My clubs:
Driver - Taylormade Burner 10.5
3 Hybrid - Taylormade Burner 19
4 Hybrid - Cobra FlyXL 22
5 Hybrid - Cobra FlyXL 25
4-9 Irons - Taylormade Burner
PW SW Wedges - Taylormade Burner
Putter - Taylormade Rossa Monza Spider
Ball - Callaway CXR yellow

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

NB- a few lessons with a coach isn't an option at the moment unfortunately

Last edited:

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to golf and I'm after some fairly straight forward beginner's advice if possible, what couple of things to think about whilst starting off on my golfing journey.

I've played squash for 15 years at city and county level so handeye coordination and reflexes are great so hopefully there will be some transferable skills.