Lost Provisional Ball

slowhand

Head Pro
Joined
Jul 28, 2009
Messages
910
Location
Alwoodley, Leeds
Visit site
Can someone shed some light on the following scenario:

I duck hook my drive into some trees on the left of the fairway. I declare and play a provisional ball, which I slice OOB. I decline to hit another, hoping to find my original ball, which I fail to do. When I go back to the tee to play my next shot, will I be playing my 3rd or 5th? In other words, since I have not elected to play my provisional ball, does it still count?

I have to say this has never happened to me. I was reading another lost ball thread and this scenario popped into my mind, so was wondering what the ruling would be.

Thanks,

Michael
 
Aye - seen folk finally get a ball in play from the tee in 9 (5th ball played - previous 4 OOB) - and heard even grimmer tales (one being for a bloke on his way to a 21!)
 
Top