rulefan
Tour Winner
The Rules do not define 'Addressing the ball'Address the ball means to set the club in behind the ball.
The Rules do not define 'Addressing the ball'Address the ball means to set the club in behind the ball.
Have you actually read the rule? The breach was not about lining anything up. It was for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.Couldn't have done, the caddy had already started walking away before he lined anything up.
The Rule says " ... once the player begins taking a stance ..."It's all about interpretation and when you stop the video. Look at this below and you can see the caddie is starting to move before he even gets his feet lined up.
Franny the original diver.Here is the definitive response:
It was always “Lee one pen†but even Franny would not have expected 2!!
STATEMENT FROM R&A CHIEF EXECUTIVE MARTIN SLUMBERS ON THE LI HAOTONG RULINGEuropean Tour statement
http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/news/newsid=365137.html
that just makes it worse I think, ET basically saying they have to apply the letter of the law even though in hindsight they dont want to
Do they define starting to take a stance?The Rules do not define 'Addressing the ball'
Do they define starting to take a stance?
What about putter head , I always start with my putter head square then put my feet square to that?Yes "they" do.
Stance
The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke.
It's worth noting that the positioning of the body is part of the stance, not just of the feet.
Simple answer would be for the caddy to make sure he was no-where near the player before he tackes his stance and the player to check his caddy was no-where near as to cause him a penalty.What about putter head , I always start with my putter head square then put my feet square to that?
But I can’t get the head to the ball without having my feet close enough to reach .
So when does my stance start ?
These rules are making it worse imo , as a lot of players will need lessons as to when their stance starts.
Simple answer would be for the caddy to make sure he was no-where near the player before he tackes his stance and the player to check his caddy was no-where near as to cause him a penalty.
They all must know the rules, and the latest amendmants and if they didnt it serves them right.
Fair enough. A lesson for everyone.The Rule says " ... once the player begins taking a stance ..."
Li moved his feet at least six times maybe more so which one is the start.Yes "they" do.
Stance
The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke.
It's worth noting that the positioning of the body is part of the stance, not just of the feet.
Apparently Pelley did speak with the R&A, and here is their response:Seems to me Orikoru gets vilified again for having an emotional opinion a rule is unfair and shouldn't have been applied using discretion, many others on here agree the ruling is harsh including myself and having read the statement Keith Pelley also believes this to be the case and is going to speak with Martin Slumbers about it. Yet so many people defend the rules because we'll they're the rules and everyone should accept it.
Just because that's what the book says and we have to apply doesn't make it something we have to agree with and not question.
I'd be interested in hearing Li's and his Caddy views on this.
He managed ok for 71 holes!Simple answer would be for the caddy to make sure he was no-where near the player before he tackes his stance and the player to check his caddy was no-where near as to cause him a penalty.
They all must know the rules, and the latest amendmants and if they didnt it serves them right.
Here is what the specific Rule says:Li moved his feet at least six times maybe more so which one is the start.
It will be different for other players it’s far to open to interpretation.
This rule is ill thought out unless a rigid “this is when your stance starts is publishedâ€
But how can that be done?
Well seems that the ivory tower at the R&A based on that statement hasn't really acknowledged the ambiguity of the situation and fairness of how to apply the ruling. Doesn't matter how many times the rule is Quoted and posted it still doesn't sit right morally with many.Apparently Pelley did speak with the R&A, and here is their response:
For Immediate Publication
STATEMENT FROM R&A CHIEF EXECUTIVE MARTIN SLUMBERS ON THE LI HAOTONG RULING
Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of The R&A, said, “We have reviewed the Li Haotong ruling made by the European Tour referees and agree that it was correct. There has been some misunderstanding of the new Rule and I would point out that it is designed to prevent any opportunity for the caddie to stand behind the player as he begins to take his stance. Whether the player intends to be lined up is not the issue. We appreciate that it was a very unfortunate situation yesterday and I completely understand Keith Pelley's concerns when a Rules incident occurs at such a key stage of a European Tour event but there is no discretionary element to the Rule precisely so that it is easier to understand and can be applied consistently.
“We are continuing to monitor the impact of the new Rules but I made it clear to Keith that our focus is very much on maintaining the integrity of the Rules for all golfers worldwide.â€