Divot...am I supposed to take one?

bradleywedge

Visit site
I know technically you are supposed to hit the ball first and take a divot after the strike, but my shots never tend to do this. I rarely take a divot unless I fat, or duff one, when the ball doesn't go anywhere.

Are taking divots just resigned to low handicappers and very good players. I can strike my irons well and quite far without a divot, but does this mean I am not hitting them right?

Rlburnside

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I know they say you are supposed to take a divot but I’ve been playing for 35 years and rarely take a divot, most I play with don’t either.

I suppose the really good ball strikers will but I wouldn’t worry to much if I were you.

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Probably due to being a hockey player - who struck penalty corners, so solid hitter - I never used to take divots with any irons and still got decent distance. I rarely ever took divots with decent 5, 4 or 3 (or 2 when I had one) irons (which have now been replaced with hybrids). However eventually started taking divots (that start ahead of where the ball was) with shorter irons (except maybe 6 off the tee). this simply seemed the right thing to do to get 'stop spin'. It certainly means I've hit the ball while the clubhead was descending, which is how I hit it best.

Parsaregood

Head Pro
Visit site