Tommo21
Tour Winner
But thats precisely what it can turn out to be.
Yeh if you look for the first ball then fine. Thats not what I said though.
But thats precisely what it can turn out to be.
But thats precisely what it can turn out to be.
Sorry Tommo. You maybe feel that a player ought to look for his first ball, but you are wrong if you are saying that he is obliged to. There is no rule to say that and indeed there is a Decision which tells you that the player may play his provisional ball without looking for the original. 27-2b/1
http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-27/#d27-2b-1
Yeh only if you go look for the first ball.
You would need some real pals to ingnore looking for the first one......Just as well saying the first ones lost, but only after hitting the good prov of course.
Just want to check that I'm right in believing that you can "effectively" make a ball lost by playing your 3rd off the tee.
If you fail to properly declare a provisional, then the second ball you hit off the tee is in play as soon as you strike it and the first one is lost.
Correct, and it becomes the ball in play regardless of where it lands and this could be worse than the original
To be absolutely correct, it's the ball in play as soon as you take a swing (make a stroke) at it.If you fail to properly declare a provisional, then the second ball you hit off the tee is in play as soon as you strike it and the first one is lost.
Playing devils advocate here.
If your 1st tee shot goes into the cabbage and from what I have read, you cannot "declare" a ball lost and as such your playing partners have the right to look for it, isn't then not declaring a provisional ball and then playing "3 off the tee", although taking the risk of where that drive may go, but, all the same putting that ball then in play immediately, isn't that a form of declaring the 1st ball as lost and as such removing the right of the opposition to look for it?
Isn't this a way around that rule although there is a slight risk with that 2nd drive?
Playing devils advocate here.
If your 1st tee shot goes into the cabbage and from what I have read, you cannot "declare" a ball lost and as such your playing partners have the right to look for it, isn't then not declaring a provisional ball and then playing "3 off the tee", although taking the risk of where that drive may go, but, all the same putting that ball then in play immediately, isn't that a form of declaring the 1st ball as lost and as such removing the right of the opposition to look for it?
Isn't this a way around that rule although there is a slight risk with that 2nd drive?
Exactly.
If I hit a shocker into the rubbish, I can declare "that ball is lost and this next ball is not a provisional"
Yep. If you hit one in the cabbage, tee up another and say 'Looks like 3 off the tee, better reload' or similar which falls short of declaring a provisional, you are immediately in play and it doesn't matter if you find the first one sitting up on a tee peg in the fairway or in the 9th circle of hell, it is lost either way.
Can you still look for it (as it was new) or is that waived due to it no longer being the ball in play.