Change of handicap in middle of match

Thread starter #1
Joined
Sep 12, 2017
Messages
159
Interesting scenario occured recently. Forced to abandon a 4bbb match on 17th green with match A/S due to darkness.

Rules of competition required play to re-commence on 18th tee at a date agreed by both pairs followed by sudden death play off if no result on 18th.

Between the match stopping and re-starting 4 days later one of the players handicap went up meaning if the new handicap was used they would now get a shot on the 1st play off hole.

Is that player entitled to that shot?

Didn't matter as one player birdied 18 to win the match but interested nontheless.
 

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Joined
May 20, 2017
Messages
10,466
Location
Yeovil
To me the following applies

c. Applying Handicaps in Handicap Match
(1) Declaring Handicaps. The player and opponent should tell each other their handicaps before the match.

As the match has already started the same handicap prevails throughout the match

 

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
1,620
Location
Dorset
Interesting scenario occured recently. Forced to abandon a 4bbb match on 17th green with match A/S due to darkness.

Rules of competition required play to re-commence on 18th tee at a date agreed by both pairs followed by sudden death play off if no result on 18th.

Between the match stopping and re-starting 4 days later one of the players handicap went up meaning if the new handicap was used they would now get a shot on the 1st play off hole.

Is that player entitled to that shot?

Didn't matter as one player birdied 18 to win the match but interested nontheless.
Cheeky! good try though....
 
Top