Whose in the wrong?

Sorry? These days etiquette suggests that even a singleton should be allowed to play through a two, three or four ball. So why would etiquette not suggest that our two ball should be waved through by the four ball? If I was in the two ball - whether they let me through of not I'd make it clear to them where I thought 'right' in respect of etiquette lay.

Page 20 of the current rule book - Priority on the Course makes it clear that its pace of the group not how many that is in it that has priority
 
Page 20 of the current rule book - Priority on the Course makes it clear that its pace of the group not how many that is in it that has priority

At our course ( private members ) two balls do have priority , not withstanding a competition being on, although they did mange to omit it from the current diary.
 
Group in front were daft imo. They should have known that'incoming' was likely.

And, almost certainly, they were breaking Rule 7.2. Practice During Round. Such practice is allowed - provide it does not unduly delay play. I'd suggest that their action 'unduly delays play'!
 
Just because the green was empty, it doesn't mean that it's not in use. You were clearly able to hit the green and they were totally and absolutely wrong to go back and practise putting on it. It's difficult to know where you stand in such situations but you certainly did the right thing by apologising. You should then have told them the facts of golfing life.
 
They were in the wrong. Think you handled it well and set a good example to your son. Can't see how you can be held accountable if you take the time to make sure the green clears, wander back to your ball and fire a great shot in, and in the meantime they have walked back on with the ball already on its way. I would have reported it when I got back in, to a) get your side in, b) make the club know what happened and c) let the powers that be know what a bunch of muppets are on the course
 
Page 20 of the current rule book - Priority on the Course makes it clear that its pace of the group not how many that is in it that has priority

OK - so the four ball was holding up the two ball so the two ball could go through as it could play quicker?
 
Were they members, as I believe you pay for 18 holes, not 18 holes and a load of practice putts. The green should be cleared once you have completed your hole. I would have taken their names and reported them for course abuse.

I see you have done nothing wrong, apologies for hitting them followed by, a statement "you had cleared the green as per r&a rules and had no reason to be on the green
 
Another point, most clubs have a no practicing on the course rule? You have nothing to answer. If the course was busy as you said why would anyone go back to practice on a green just crazy.
 
On a busy day surely you are aware of what the group behind and the group in font are doing, roughly where they are on any given hole.

IMO the place to wait when queuing and the next tee is loaded, is as far off that tee as you can be without interfering with shots to the green you have just come off. So, in between last green and the next tee if that is practical.

To RETURN to a green to practice putting AFTER you have cleared it is poor on so many levels. When you think about it, it's holding up EVERY single group behind you on a fully loaded course.
 
Even if the course is busy, the group ahead should move off to within sight of the next tee.
What if the group ahead of them on the tee hit 4 shots into the rough and realised they were in for some serious ball hunting and wanted to call though?
 
They were completely wrong to return to the green. You cannot be blamed for hitting them in error. They should have been waiting behind the group on the next tee .
 
So that's over 30 posts, with everyone saying they were in the wrong.
Suggest that you print this thread out and stick it on the first tee...
 
Top