Shaft experts and gear heads

turkish

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
So with there nowhere in Scotland in the mould of Tour X or Golf Principles I am taking it on myself to experiment with different shafts bought 2nd hand from ebay/facebook etc alongside my course of lessons with a pro on GC2.

Disclaimer; I am very much learning so if anything I say is a load of tosh feel free to enlighten me as there is an overwhelming plethora of variables in the multitude of shafts out there.

I've a few questions for all you shaft experts out there and what direction I should be going if anybody has any advice. As I said I'm new to all this but find it really interesting so if it interests you also read on!!! If not trolls beat it :)

This is likely to be a costly endeavour so I am looking at 2nd hand market and not wanting to pay more than £60 a shaft so things like the new project x hzrdus, or expensive oban shafts I can't consider... anything that doesn't work for me will be getting quickly moved on hopefully at no/little loss.

about me:
Handicap 16.5
AOA -1ish (still a work in progress with pro but big improvement from the 5-6 I was before)
in to out swing path
SS- can vary between 96-101 mph
Spin- can vary but usually between 2200-3000 then goes northwards on my poor hits. When I started along with AoA being massivly down my spin was as high as 5 and 6k.
my poor shot: Heel strike cuts or pushes right with an open face.
distances: Not got the data yet as just started testing but best shaft yesterday from memory was 240 carry 262 total average which is up by about 40 yards when I started this.
Height: 5 foot 7", fairly fit.
Driver Head: Titleist 915 D2 9.5 degree set to 8.75 degree and 1.5 upright (D2 setting)

Hopefully my journey will help other people and give them an insight- so far I've noticed not only how big a difference it can make to the numbers but also the overall general feel from the standard shafts you get with a driver.