Refusal to mark and lift ball

You’re not the only one that considers DQ to be in play if this is deliberate ‘housery

For example this guide references this exact scenario…

But even then they sort of contradict themselves. In their own words they state a refusal to mark the ball and then in the USGA examples it changes to 'repeatedly'. Is it once or is it repeatedly that leads to DQ?
 
But even then they sort of contradict themselves. In their own words they state a refusal to mark the ball and then in the USGA examples it changes to 'repeatedly'. Is it once or is it repeatedly that leads to DQ?
Those "USGA examples" are actually pretty much word for word from Clarification 1.2a/1.

The earlier preamble on the club website is paraphrasing, embellishing (and somewhat butchering) Rule 1.2a.

My recommendation is that people should read the source documents for themselves rather than resorting to Google and relying on what someone else thinks is a good idea to post on a website.
 
And what if it’s 10 yards rather than 2 millimetres. I want to putt, not chip and consider it might be on my line. I’m wrong because I’ve completely misread the putt but I ask anyway as allowed and am refused.

My point is, should the Rules not decree a deliberate and knowing refusal to adhere to a request from another player, within the Rules, to be a serious breach worthy of DQ?

As I typed that I realised the futility of my desire. We come back to flag tending 🤣
A player refusing to a request that they know they must adhere too, in my view that is a clear 1.2a breach and the committee should be asked to Rule on it i.e DQ
 
I’ve re-read 15.3b and see nothing that could warrant Committee involvement. Or is the word “require” rather than “ask” in the sentence “The player may require the other player to mark the spot…” significant?
Require:
To impose a compulsion or command on
If a law or rule requires you to do something, you have to do it.
Synonyms: order, demand, direct, command
 
Fellow competitor’s ball is millimetres in front of mine, just off the green, directly in line. I ask him to mark it. He says he knows it’s permitted within the rules but refuses.

I don’t see why that shouldn’t be a DQ but no replies means I’m probably alone so I’ll ask instead opinions on how one would proceed?

He doesn’t get the penalty until I play my ball so what we doing: tapping it sideways? Hitting it hard against his ball in the hope it advances toward the hole a bit, then FC replaces his ball and gets the penalty?

Farcical. I must be missing something.
They would be playing on their own.
I would walk in and just let the comittiee sort it out.
But imo that’s a serious breach and a DQ.
I thought stymies were banned years ago.!

So they won’t mark their ball and I won’t play until they do = Standing around until someone flinches.
Is that how the game has progressed ?
 
I’ve re-read 15.3b and see nothing that could warrant Committee involvement. Or is the word “require” rather than “ask” in the sentence “The player may require the other player to mark the spot…” significant?
If two players cannot agree on the application of a rule then they need to refer the incident to the committee for them to rule on.
 
Fellow competitor’s ball is millimetres in front of mine, just off the green, directly in line. I ask him to mark it. He says he knows it’s permitted within the rules but refuses.

I don’t see why that shouldn’t be a DQ but no replies means I’m probably alone so I’ll ask instead opinions on how one would proceed?

He doesn’t get the penalty until I play my ball so what we doing: tapping it sideways? Hitting it hard against his ball in the hope it advances toward the hole a bit, then FC replaces his ball and gets the penalty?

Farcical. I must be missing something.
You've used the term "fellow competitor". That says it's stroke play. Go ahead and move his ball for him - no penalty to you and he just replaces it. (Rule 9.6), then report the incident to the Committee.
 
You've used the term "fellow competitor". That says it's stroke play. Go ahead and move his ball for him - no penalty to you and he just replaces it. (Rule 9.6), then report the incident to the Committee.
You really shouldn’t have to do that !
It’s a gentleman’s game isn’t it ?
 
Top