@Philbyk1
Back to Reed's caddie's antics with the flagstick and Rule 4.3. Here's an idea of the sort of sequence you might go through in reaching a ruling. First, read the relevant rule!
https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-4#4-3
Then you really want to be able to ask the caddie why he is doing what he is doing.
Then it's a bit like a flowchart:
The rule is about
equipment. Is the flagstick
equipment ? Check the Definition of
equipment. If no, the rule isn't applicable. If yes, carry on.
Carrying on, what does the rule tell us we can do with equipment? We can use it to help our play.
Any exceptions to this general permission? If no, then the caddie is not in breach of the rule. If yes, what is excepted?
a) abnormal use of equipment in the making of a stroke;
b) using equipment artificially to avoid the skills and judgments needed in the game;
but only if it created a potential advantage.
a) isn't relevant as the flagstick isn't being used in making a stroke;
b) raises the questions (i) is it being used artificially and (ii) if so, is it eliminating or reducing skills .
To consider if it's artificial use, take a look at the list of examples of what is not permitted and you'll see they relate to devices and instruments used for measuring. Would you put a flagstick in that sort of category?
Does it actually measure anything? If so, what skills and judgements does it eliminate or reduce? If there are any, does the elimination or reduction create a potential advantage for the player? An advantage say over other players armed with their wee books of notes on the topography of each green?