No handicap

Lee73

Visit site
Hi all,

This maybe a silly question but I’m new to golf, I haven’t got a handicap as I’m new to golf, I had 1 round which went badly so I had a lesson which was great, since the lesson I haven’t played but been in the driving range etc and hitting a lot better so now I feel confident on playing again so I am playing a stranger tomorrow who’s handicap is 13 (obviously he will destroy me) so here goes my silly question...as I haven’t got a handicap how do I score it?, I’m not to bothered about scoring as I’m just out to get better but was just wondering.

Cheers

Andy

Tour Winner
Visit site
You add up your score on each hole and you have your gross score. Repeat 3 times and hand in your cards.

Crow

Crow Person
Visit site
If you're playing a game against the stranger, explain what you've written above to him and ask him what he suggests as to what you should play off, I'd guess he'll say 28.

badgb21

Hacker
Visit site
You're new to golf, you've played one round and some range sessions.
I would put your score card away and concentrate on trying to make some good hits and looking for your ball in the rough!
Take all the advice your partner can give you.
Good luck and enjoy the start of this wonderful journey!

Last edited:

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
But watch out for the moment you think you have this game sussed.
Turn around and it'll take a massive chunk out of your backside!
Game on!

DCB

Visit site
Just go out and enjoy yourself, don't worry about the score. Go and hit some good shots and have some fun ☺

Lee73

Visit site
Yeah true...I’ll just try and enjoy it....I know I have to hand in 3 cards to get a handicap (I did join a club) do I start with today’s card or did you wait a while until you got better? Thanks for all the replies.

jusme

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site