My first handicap

jamiet7682

Visit site
At want point did you decide you had practiced enough and was of a good enough level to obtain your first handicap?

I have been playing for 3 months and got my score down to around 100 (94 best score) on a par 66 course, I have taken up the winter membership at my local course and quite fancy getting involved in some of the comps in the winter season.

Do you think i could start submitting scorecards for handicap or should i be aiming to improve my score further before applying for handicap?

All thoughts welcome.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
It was probably different for most of us because the max handicap used to be 28 (or even lower for some of the older crowd). So personally, I decided I didn't want to join a club and get a handicap until I could comfortably play off 28, as I figured there was no point paying my money, trying to enter comps off 28 if I was a 'true' 35 or something and just getting rubbish scores every week. So yeah, when I felt like I was a 28 or just under, that's when I joined. And as it turned out they put me on 24 to begin with.

Now that the handicap goes up to 54 you can pretty much join whenever you fancy it. You don't have to worry about not playing to your handicap as it should be fairly accurate. It's up to you if there's a particular handicap you want to aim for, in which case you'd have to wait until you're playing to that sort of standard; if you're not bothered what it is then crack on and give yourself that target of getting it lower.

jamiet7682

Visit site
Thanks for the input, I dont think I am far away from playing off 28 anyway so might be a good time to start submitting some scores.