Knee joint replacement

oleinone

Visit site
Rather than hijacking the knee brace thread. I would be interested in feedback from those who have had this operation. I'm 71 years old and play very often. I'm making a last ditch effort with hyalouronic acid injections but realise that I'm probably just delaying the inevitable.

RichA

Visit site
Rather than hijacking the knee brace thread. I would be interested in feedback from those who have had this operation. I'm 71 years old and play very often. I'm making a last ditch effort with hyalouronic acid injections but realise that I'm probably just delaying the inevitable.
I've no medical knowledge, but 10 years ago the orthopaedic surgeon who lives next door to my mil told her not to let them cut unless she literally couldn't walk. Maybe the likelihood of a favourable outcome has improved since then, but his feeling was that many surgeons are a bit too keen get the knife out.

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site
I haven't had the op, but I am currently (literally, as multi-tasking during a conference call on the subject) working on some (non-surgical) treatments in this condition.

The knee is, fundamentally, not a very well designed joint, with surfaces that do not fit together in a mechanically robust way. The hip is a much better designed one, with a nice socket and ball that fit neatly together. Knee is the joint most often affected by osteoarthritis (OA). Current treatment guidelines advise non-pharmacological treatment such as physio, exercise and weight loss, since this is an axial weight-bearing joint, followed by topical or oral NSAIDs (ibuprofen etc), and if appropriate injections into the joint of hyaluronic acid and/or corticosteroids. The evidence of effectiveness for hyaluronic acid is not great, so the NHS does not usually fund it.