Help needed

NEWQUAYTR7

Hacker
Visit site
Help needed, i started playing last october & was immediately bitten by the bug, i've had two lessons & things were going ok untill just recently. I go to the range everyday & hit 90-150 balls, now heres the problem, on the range playing with irons i can hit a fade, draw, straight down the middle, in other words it's ok but as soon as i get on the course it's like i'm a complete novice who likes to hit fat shots all day & tops his drives....please can someone helpppppppppppppp

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
Warm up properly before playing, don't just jump out of the car and assume you will play well. Remember that 170 balls on the range is like playing two rounds in half an hour. No wonder your swing grooves on the range. If you only play one shot every five minutes, this is more the way golf is played, and I bet you don't hit it down the range well if you slow down to this rate either.

Consistency comes with experience unfortunately, and I don't think there are any short cuts.

Question: If you only started playing recently, why are you trying to shape the ball flight? This is not really an issue, until you get to a single figure handicap
(maybe not even then, Olazabal has spent a lifetime trying to draw his driver, and still can't). If you concentrate on hitting one shot, straight or whatever is most consistent, this will improve your strike.

Also, check your alignment on the course. It is easy to line up straight at the range because there are features around you to line up square to. On the course you need to pick a point in line with where the ball is going to go, about 6 inches in front of the ball, and line up with the line between this point and the ball. Align the club first, then grip, and then finally take your stance.