Found embedded ball by treading on it - any penalties??

To be entitled to relief under 25-1c, you would need to be certain that the ball was lost in an area of casual water. If there is visible water over the entire area where the ball could be, you have certainty and can take relief. If water is only visible when you stand on a particular spot, then you cannot be certain that at every place in the area where the ball might be, there would also be visible water when you stand on it and I would not allow relief. In the latter case, you would have to find your ball and see whether it was in casual water at that.
As I said, all four of our playing group saw exactly where the ball went and the whole area for many yards in every direction from that point was completely sodden, so you could raise water everywhere, and so there was no doubt than it was in an AGC.
 
As I said, all four of our playing group saw exactly where the ball went and the whole area for many yards in every direction from that point was completely sodden, so you could raise water everywhere, and so there was no doubt than it was in an AGC.

Well,you didn’t actually say that the whole area was sodden but I guess after 4 of you had trampled around for five minutes you would know that water became visible wherever you stood and that you had covered enough of the area to have certainty. As in so many cases, you need to be there to know.

As an aside, what were you all thinking about? Four of you trampling around for five minutes in an area that was completely sodden such that at every step you were raising water. What sort of state was the ground in when you finished?
 
deja.jpg

Pahahaha couldn't remember if it was this thread I had read!

always good fun when delc posts in the rules section
 
Top