Do I go all Hybrid?

Senseicads

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Ok after a bit of golf club selection advice. Just to preface this I am already having lessons so I am covered on that score.

I am a high handicapper(23) and the top end of my bag is a mess. The current make up has been evolving over time since I started playing a couple of years ago, in a somewhat ramshackle way and goes 5i, 4i, 24*Hybrid (which is old and awful and I bought for £20 on a whim when I first started out), 5w, D.

I hit the 4i so terrible it might as well not be in the bag,
I hit the 5i ok and fairly consistently about 160-165yds,
the hybrid goes the same distance as the 5i, a little bit further if connected well,
and the 5w can be a bit hit and miss, but gets to 185-190 if I connect well but I am not that consistent with it.

So past couple of weekends my pro shop has let me take out a ping g400 4 hybrid demo club, and I am able to hit it much more consistently than the 5w. It gives me so much confidence. I even had a shot that crept up towards 200yds with it. The ping fairway woods not so much, I struggled with the length of the shaft to hit it consistently. I am hitting the 4H about the same distance as my current 5w, 185-190yds according to skytrack.

I then had a bit of a gapping session on a sky track while the pro tried to sell me on the G400. It wasn’t that hard a sell. I am thinking I will replace the 5w with the Ping 4H.
However, this leaves me with some ridiculous distances on my top end clubs.

I would have…

Driver at 220 yds.
Ping 4h at 185-190
4i at God only knows
24*Hybrid at say 160-170
5I at 160-165

It’s just not very balanced. I am thinking of just biting the bullet and buying 3 of these ping g400 hybrids, a 3,4,5. And then removing the pointless 4i, the 5w and the 24* Hybrid from the bag, as this feels it would cover the gap between my 5i and driver nicely.

So I would have,

D, 3H, 4H, 5H, 5i-Pw. 3 wedges and a putter.