Attack or defend?

Sweep

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I have been playing this great game for 25+ years and throughout most of my golfing "career" I have been stuck between 16 and 18 handicap. I play on a tough golf course but I still believe I have the game to get to say 14. I have a decent swing that in reality should get me to a lower handicap and I confess it frustrates me when I see guys with much worse swings get lower than me with seemingly relative ease. Whilst the vast majority of my rounds get me in buffer or 0.1 back I always seem to do well in any nett eclectic competition, so it seems I have quite a lot of pars and birdies in relation to my handicap.
Thinking about this today and trying to be realistic on what I have to do to play to 14, I came to the conclusion that I am always going to have at least one double bogey in a round. If I allow myself 2 doubles and rely on 6 pars which is reasonable based on my usual score, that's 4 under off 18 which attains my 14 goal.
It sounds easy, but it clearly never happens. Maybe because I will usually throw a couple of 7s or 8s into the mix.
This begs the question, bearing in mind my good eclectic scores and the amount of doubles or worse a typical round returns, am I playing too aggressively? Should I be concentrating on keeping the doubles or worse off my card rather than just trying to get the best score I can on each hole? If so, what does this mean? There seems little point in laying up from 150 yds even if like most 18 cappers I miss 65% of GIR. I know that because of this my chipping must improve and I am working hard on this.
Sorry for the indulgent post but I think this is an issue faced by a lot of golfers around my standard and I would greatly appreciate any constructive advice.

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
The issue with playing defensive golf is that if you play for a bogey, a double is so easy to make. Or worse.

Your attacking golf gets you birdies and pars - that's good!