Asked NOT to mark ball near hole

Next time..which could be as soon as tomorrow.....I'll just say "I'll mark the ball, stride up and mark it".....Looking further at the rules....if I say I want to mark the ball and they go ahead and putt it or chip it on anyway with the knowledge my ball may assist them...is this a two shot penalty?

Thanks...until the next time.....

M
 
Next time..which could be as soon as tomorrow.....I'll just say "I'll mark the ball, stride up and mark it".....Looking further at the rules....if I say I want to mark the ball and they go ahead and putt it or chip it on anyway with the knowledge my ball may assist them...is this a two shot penalty?

Thanks...until the next time.....

M
You can't be penalised for a "thought of your own", and as you are not colluding......
 
Next time..which could be as soon as tomorrow.....I'll just say "I'll mark the ball, stride up and mark it".....Looking further at the rules....if I say I want to mark the ball and they go ahead and putt it or chip it on anyway with the knowledge my ball may assist them...is this a two shot penalty?

Thanks...until the next time.....

M

No penalty for you , but in stroke play
Decision 3-4/1
Q.
In stroke play, A’s ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A.
B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A’s right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.
 
Hi team...or the lucky ones who have subscribed to this thread...........so it happened again today....picture the scene, par three, three up near the fringe of the green, and me a bit sorter by 15m. I played first and being furthest away...I managed to semi stiff mine to within 50cm just after the flag (sorry about the metric) I then walked up to the ball to mark it before the others could putt as it was behind the hole now and could be used as a back stop. My playing partner said leave it there I'll use it as a back stop...he is off 1.5, plays a lot of golf and to be honest we were having a nice time so wasn't going to stride up and mark before he played.

Here's the thing...after the hole, I explained the rule situation and their error. They did not understand this and said that I was wrong. They did not even pay full attention to the rule book and have a look. I said don't worry I'll show you later after the round. He did not say "do not mark your ball" but did strangely say "I'll use it as a backstop". The other player got pretty aggressive and said is was a load of b*******s and never heard such rubbish in his 40 year golfing life. In retrospect I should have just walked up after my shot and marked the ball. I have read and re-read the rule 22-1 over and over and I can not see what the problem is....

Is it me?

M

Do you mean partner or do you mean fellow competitor?
 
One of the other definitive Decisions is 22/6

[h=2]22/6[/h] [h=4]Competitor Requests That Ball in Position to Assist Him Not Be Lifted[/h] Q.In stroke play, B's ball lies just off the putting green. A's ball lies near the hole in a position to serve as a backstop for B's ball. B requests A not to lift his ball. Is such a request proper?

A.No. If A and B agree not to lift a ball that might assist B, both players are disqualified under Rule 22-1.

I am not sure if this has been given to you already.
 
Thanks for replies...all seems pretty straightforward...always thought it was a strange one..to be able to use another persons ball as a backstop...and now I know..you can't!
Also how can you define a ball that is to assist you. If it is behind the hole and it hit ,fair enough.........if it is like 2m off line but you make bad contact with your chip and it hits the ball...surely this is also an assist?!
 
I guess in a team game eg pairs, you don't have to mark it if it helps your partner. there no rule saying you mark it?

on the green different manner altogether clear penalty issue, and you can mark it once the putt has started correct?
 
I guess in a team game eg pairs, you don't have to mark it if it helps your partner. there no rule saying you mark it?

on the green different manner altogether clear penalty issue, and you can mark it once the putt has started correct?

No once the putt has been hit , you cannot then mark another ball on the green.
 
Thanks for replies...all seems pretty straightforward...always thought it was a strange one..to be able to use another persons ball as a backstop...and now I know..you can't!

Not sure if this had been made clear already or not, but you can use another ball as a backstop provided there is no agreement made to leave the ball there.

If nobody says anything there's no penalty.
 
Yes, but if your opponent in matchplay asks you to lift your ball your ball before your partner putts/chip then you have to do it ...otherwise...loss of hole I believe.

This only really came to light as we were all playing as a fourball in stroke play...to speed things up...we were two 2 balls...so the chances of this happening are higher.......
 
but if you do not mark it when asked....what happens then? Are you then DSQ? Because this is what will happen to me....when I announce that I shall mark my ball...certain characters at my club will just go ahead regardless..I can not see in the rules, where you absolve yourself by announcing you will mark it...then your competitor putts/chips it anyway with your ball as a possible assist..M
 
Last edited:
but if you do not mark it when asked....what happens then? Are you then DSQ? Because this is what will happen to me....when I announce that I shall mark my ball...certain characters at my club will just go ahead regardless..I can not see in the rules, where you absolve yourself by announcing you will mark it...then your competitor putts/chips it anyway with your ball as a possible assist..M

If you say you want to mark your ball and a fellow competitor ignores you and putts before you can, he is in the wrong, not you. What are you wanting to be absolved from?
 
but if you do not mark it when asked....what happens then? Are you then DSQ? Because this is what will happen to me....when I announce that I shall mark my ball...certain characters at my club will just go ahead regardless..I can not see in the rules, where you absolve yourself by announcing you will mark it...then your competitor putts/chips it anyway with your ball as a possible assist..M

You've done nothing wrong. They are disqualified.

Decision 3-4/1 covers it as far as I can tell.

Q.
In stroke play, A’s ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A.
B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A’s right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.
 
just as an aside.....went to putt my 5ft the other day....playing partner was just off to the right nearer the hole...couldn't really holeout unless he stood on our lines..I asked him to mark his ball...he did with his monster casino chip..I pushed my putt and it hit his large chip and deflected in the hole.....lucky?!
 
You've done nothing wrong. They are disqualified.

Decision 3-4/1 covers it as far as I can tell.

Q.
In stroke play, A’s ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A.
B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A’s right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.

Thanks....just beat me too it.Another top ruling to share......

M.
 
Thanks....just beat me too it.Another top ruling to share......

M.

I'm sure you're already aware of this, but the angry people don't get any less angry even when you prove it to them.

I've given up because it's not worth the hassle. I've even had people upset with me when THEY asked me what the rule was in the first place!
 
Top