Asked NOT to mark ball near hole

No once the putt has been hit , you cannot then mark another ball on the green.

Not quite. You can mark and lift your ball while another ball is moving provided it is not going to affect the moving ball. See Note 2 of Rule 22-2:

When another ball is in motion, a ball that might influence the movement of the ball in motion must not be lifted.
 
I'm sure you're already aware of this, but the angry people don't get any less angry even when you prove it to them.

I've given up because it's not worth the hassle. I've even had people upset with me when THEY asked me what the rule was in the first place!

So got confronted back at the club house today on this issue that I raised last Sunday..he said, I was talking "Bollo*** and I was fu**** wrong..if you ever do that to me again I will knock your block off"

I think you get the idea...very aggressive and not civil at all. This is a bloke that is in my team and who I play foursomes with all the time. He calmed down at the end but spoilt the atmos somewhat. He just said he did not have to mark the ball and just refused to listen...but to be honest it was my ball that I wanted to mark and I think he has deeper issues than this one as he is an aggressive/arrogant little so and so most of the time so it does not take much to tip him over the edge. Such a shame. Not looking forward to playing with him again, which is bound to happen as we are similar index.

So upshot is, tried to be civil, talk through it but just got shouted down.........................the bloke clearly has issues. Jeez.....

M

M
 
Last edited:
I played with a guy for the first time yesterday, and before we'd even started he said he thought he was good on the rules but was keen to learn any that cropped up along the way.

On one hole, his tee shot was very close to OOB but we thought it would be in so he didn't play a provisional. He was also in a buggy so it wouldn't take long if he had to go back the 100yds to the tee.
We didn't find it straight away so he said to keep looking and he'd go back and hit a provisional. He was gone before I could say anything.

We found his ball and just managed to get his attention before he hit another, and after the hole (thinking of what he'd said before we started)I mentioned that you can't go back to play a provisional, and that if he'd have hit the ball it was in play.

He said "whatever" and buggied off.
 
Exactly......it is irrelevant of certain rules mostly as some people are just seeking out situations to vent themselves...in this case he has a problem with me...and any chance to 'get one up' he is there like a flash without thinking. Sad bloke. Knew I should never have brought it up. Such a bully.....maybe it's me that needs therapy!

M
 
I played with a guy for the first time yesterday, and before we'd even started he said he thought he was good on the rules but was keen to learn any that cropped up along the way.

On one hole, his tee shot was very close to OOB but we thought it would be in so he didn't play a provisional. He was also in a buggy so it wouldn't take long if he had to go back the 100yds to the tee.
We didn't find it straight away so he said to keep looking and he'd go back and hit a provisional. He was gone before I could say anything.

We found his ball and just managed to get his attention before he hit another, and after the hole (thinking of what he'd said before we started)I mentioned that you can't go back to play a provisional, and that if he'd have hit the ball it was in play.

He said "whatever" and buggied off.

You are almost right! In fact, the ball he dropped thinking it was a provisional was in play the moment he dropped it. Because, however, he did not drop it according to the rules (he was not entitled to go back and play a provisional), he is allowed to correct his error before making a stroke at the ball. [Rule 20-6]
See Decision 27-2a/5: http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-27,d27-2a-5

In the more common situation where you go back with the intention of playing another ball under stroke and distance, you are dropping in accordance with the Rules, your original ball is lost as soon as you drop the other ball and there is no way back. If your mates find your original ball before you make a stroke at it, it makes no difference. It is, by Definition, lost. If you played it, it would be a wrong ball.
See Decision 27-1/2 http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-27,d27-1-2]
 
You are almost right! In fact, the ball he dropped thinking it was a provisional was in play the moment he dropped it. Because, however, he did not drop it according to the rules (he was not entitled to go back and play a provisional), he is allowed to correct his error before making a stroke at the ball. [Rule 20-6]
See Decision 27-2a/5: http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-27,d27-2a-5

In the more common situation where you go back with the intention of playing another ball under stroke and distance, you are dropping in accordance with the Rules, your original ball is lost as soon as you drop the other ball and there is no way back. If your mates find your original ball before you make a stroke at it, it makes no difference. It is, by Definition, lost. If you played it, it would be a wrong ball.
See Decision 27-1/2 http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!decision-27,d27-1-2]

So the fact that he said his intention was to play a provisional (wrongly) meant that he had the luxury of us finding it before he hit again rather than as soon as he dropped?

Does putting the ball on a tee count the same as dropping as far as the rules go?
 
Does putting the ball on a tee count the same as dropping as far as the rules go?

No. Other than on the teeing ground, dropping a ball causes it to be in play. If you are playing from the tee, the ball is not in play until a stroke is made at it.
 
So the fact that he said his intention was to play a provisional (wrongly) meant that he had the luxury of us finding it before he hit again rather than as soon as he dropped? (1)

Does putting the ball on a tee count the same as dropping as far as the rules go? (2)

1. Exactly.

2. Already answered - the reference being the Definition of Ball in Play.
 
Meanwhile back on track..............had a night to think about it and figure that whatever I say will end up wrong in his eyes. I guess the honeymoon period is now over and I can see his true worth but have to deal with it as he plays in all the comps as well. Oh the joys.............

M
 
On one hole, his tee shot was very close to OOB but we thought it would be in so he didn't play a provisional. He was also in a buggy so it wouldn't take long if he had to go back the 100yds to the tee.


We found his ball and just managed to get his attention before he hit another, and after the hole (thinking of what he'd said before we started)I mentioned that you can't go back to play a provisional, and that if he'd have hit the ball it was in play.

You are almost right!

Does putting the ball on a tee count the same as dropping as far as the rules go?

No. Other than on the teeing ground, dropping a ball causes it to be in play. If you are playing from the tee, the ball is not in play until a stroke is made at it.

So exactly right then :whistle:
 
Top