ParParTripleBogey
Hacker
To be honest, I'd be lifting my ball and walking in to report incident to Rules Committee/Secretary. That is a shocking state of affairs.
You can't be penalised for a "thought of your own", and as you are not colluding......Next time..which could be as soon as tomorrow.....I'll just say "I'll mark the ball, stride up and mark it".....Looking further at the rules....if I say I want to mark the ball and they go ahead and putt it or chip it on anyway with the knowledge my ball may assist them...is this a two shot penalty?
Thanks...until the next time.....
M
Next time..which could be as soon as tomorrow.....I'll just say "I'll mark the ball, stride up and mark it".....Looking further at the rules....if I say I want to mark the ball and they go ahead and putt it or chip it on anyway with the knowledge my ball may assist them...is this a two shot penalty?
Thanks...until the next time.....
M
Hi team...or the lucky ones who have subscribed to this thread...........so it happened again today....picture the scene, par three, three up near the fringe of the green, and me a bit sorter by 15m. I played first and being furthest away...I managed to semi stiff mine to within 50cm just after the flag (sorry about the metric) I then walked up to the ball to mark it before the others could putt as it was behind the hole now and could be used as a back stop. My playing partner said leave it there I'll use it as a back stop...he is off 1.5, plays a lot of golf and to be honest we were having a nice time so wasn't going to stride up and mark before he played.
Here's the thing...after the hole, I explained the rule situation and their error. They did not understand this and said that I was wrong. They did not even pay full attention to the rule book and have a look. I said don't worry I'll show you later after the round. He did not say "do not mark your ball" but did strangely say "I'll use it as a backstop". The other player got pretty aggressive and said is was a load of b*******s and never heard such rubbish in his 40 year golfing life. In retrospect I should have just walked up after my shot and marked the ball. I have read and re-read the rule 22-1 over and over and I can not see what the problem is....
Is it me?
M
I guess in a team game eg pairs, you don't have to mark it if it helps your partner. there no rule saying you mark it?
on the green different manner altogether clear penalty issue, and you can mark it once the putt has started correct?
Thanks for replies...all seems pretty straightforward...always thought it was a strange one..to be able to use another persons ball as a backstop...and now I know..you can't!
I guess in a team game eg pairs, you don't have to mark it if it helps your partner. there no rule saying you mark it?
but if you do not mark it when asked....what happens then? Are you then DSQ? Because this is what will happen to me....when I announce that I shall mark my ball...certain characters at my club will just go ahead regardless..I can not see in the rules, where you absolve yourself by announcing you will mark it...then your competitor putts/chips it anyway with your ball as a possible assist..M
but if you do not mark it when asked....what happens then? Are you then DSQ? Because this is what will happen to me....when I announce that I shall mark my ball...certain characters at my club will just go ahead regardless..I can not see in the rules, where you absolve yourself by announcing you will mark it...then your competitor putts/chips it anyway with your ball as a possible assist..M
You've done nothing wrong. They are disqualified.
Decision 3-4/1 covers it as far as I can tell.
Q.
In stroke play, A’s ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1. B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?
A.
B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A’s right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.
Thanks....just beat me too it.Another top ruling to share......
M.