• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

"Agree to hold the flag" - what does that mean?

Re: "Agree to hold the flag" - what does that mean?

Whilst a Committee can impose some conditions of competition they are not allowed to waive the Rules of Golf

Rule 33-1 Conditions; Waiving Rule

"The Committee must establish the conditions under which a competition is to be played.
The Committee has no power to waive a Rule of Golf."

Under the Rules of Golf a player is allowed to have a caddie.

Rule 6-4 - Caddie

"The player may be assisted by a caddie, but he is limited to only one caddie at any one time."

As I see it that's the end of the argument.

Does that mean I can have a caddie for any competitive round of golf at my club, even if the committee says I can't?
 
Re: "Agree to hold the flag" - what does that mean?

Whilst a Committee can impose some conditions of competition they are not allowed to waive the Rules of Golf

Rule 33-1 Conditions; Waiving Rule

"The Committee must establish the conditions under which a competition is to be played.
The Committee has no power to waive a Rule of Golf."

Under the Rules of Golf a player is allowed to have a caddie.

Rule 6-4 - Caddie

"The player may be assisted by a caddie, but he is limited to only one caddie at any one time."

As I see it that's the end of the argument.

Does that mean I can have a caddie for any competitive round of golf at my club, even if the committee says I can't?

why would a committee EVER say you cant have a caddy?
 
Re: "Agree to hold the flag" - what does that mean?

Whilst a Committee can impose some conditions of competition they are not allowed to waive the Rules of Golf

Rule 33-1 Conditions; Waiving Rule

"The Committee must establish the conditions under which a competition is to be played.
The Committee has no power to waive a Rule of Golf."

Under the Rules of Golf a player is allowed to have a caddie.

Rule 6-4 - Caddie

"The player may be assisted by a caddie, but he is limited to only one caddie at any one time."

As I see it that's the end of the argument.

But you need to read the whole of the rule.

"Rule 6-4 - Caddie
The player may be assisted by a caddie, but he is limited to only one caddie at any one time.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 6-4:

Match play – At the conclusion of the hole at which the breach is discovered, the state of the match is adjusted by deducting one hole for each hole at which a breach occurred; maximum deduction per round – Two holes.

Stroke play – Two strokes for each hole at which any breach occurred; maximum penalty per round – Four strokes.

Match or stroke play – In the event of a breach between the play of two holes, the penalty applies to the next hole.
A player having more than one caddie in breach of this must immediately upon discovery that a breach has occurred ensure that he has no more than one caddie at any one time during the remainder of the stipulated round. Otherwise, the player is disqualified.
Bogey and par competitions – See Note 1 to Rule 32-1a.
Stableford competitions – See Note 1 to Rule 32-1b.

Note: The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), prohibit the use of caddies or restrict a player in his choice of caddie.
 
Top