£1000 to spend on clubs

TerryGolf

Visit site
Hello.

After a particularly good showing at work, my boss has offered to buy me a set of golf clubs by way of a bonus. He has told me to spend £1000 on them which is absolutely amazing.

I'm a complete beginner with previous attempts to play golf only resulting in me getting frustrated at not hitting the ball. I do intend to start with lessons and play regularly.

My question is, what should I get?

All advice leads toward not spending much and/or getting second hand but this is a unique situation whereby I've been asked to get a £1000 new set.

I'd be massively grateful for any help.

casuk

Head Pro
Visit site
Hello.

After a particularly good showing at work, my boss has offered to buy me a set of golf clubs by way of a bonus. He has told me to spend £1000 on them which is absolutely amazing.

I'm a complete beginner with previous attempts to play golf only resulting in me getting frustrated at not hitting the ball. I do intend to start with lessons and play regularly.

All advice leads toward not spending much and/or getting second hand but this is a unique situation whereby I've been asked to get a £1000 new set.

See a pro and get a demo of a couple of different clubs see what suits, you should be able to easily get a good set up with 1k fitting inc

timd77

Assistant Pro
Visit site
You lucky.... ?

I’d personally try and look at game improvement/forgiving clubs from the brands which hold their value better, such as ping, callaway, mizuno, titleist etc. That way, if you really don’t take to the game, you can sell them and he’ll never know!

To be fair, a grand sounds a lot but costs soon mount up when you include a bag as well.

Anyway, have fun!

Biggleswade Blue

Head Pro
Visit site
Hello.

Have a few lessons (a pro will lend you clubs to get started), then follow his or her advice.

Karl102

Journeyman Pro
Visit site