Been watching golf on TV for many years but never played it. What clubs should I buy as a beginner?

SarenArterius

Visit site
Hi. I'm a beginner and I've never swung a club before. As you can probably understand, I currently own no clubs. I've seen quite a lot of conflicting advice about what clubs you need when you start playing. I've seen suggestions ranging from getting a full set of 14 clubs, to just getting a driver and a putter. I've had a look at the sets in Sports Direct and their cheapest set of clubs is a Slazenger set for £200. I've no idea if they are a respected brand or not. I've only really heard of Titleist, Callaway and TaylorMade clubs, but individual clubs from them can cost around £1000. I was hoping not to spend that much when I'm starting out. Also, does anyone have advice about beginner-friendly courses and ranges? I've found a driving range near me that offers lessons, but their website says you have to bring your own clubs. You can hire balls there but not clubs. I'm not sure why you can't hire clubs as well, but that seems to be the norm across local courses which I've researched.

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I would go second hand have a look on Golfbidder they sell second hand and you are able to return them without penalty. Ping G range would suit or Callaway X series.

Ethan

Money List Winner
Visit site
Go to a golf range or pro shops that sells clubs. Ask if they have some second hand sets you can try, with one of the pros casting an eye over. Try some, find something you like the look off and you seem to be able to hit. Don't spend a lot of money.

Definitely don't buy something at Sports Direct.

Tell us where you are and you will get some specific suggestions.

Crumplezone

Visit site