Your biggest blow-up on course

Allanxyz

Head Pro
Visit site
Firstly, I should introduce myself as a new member... my name is Allan, I've been playing golf pretty regularly for 10 years or so and am pretty obsessed with the game. I live in Germany (moved here about 5 years ago from sunny Bristol). I look forward to getting more involved in the forum after being an innocent bystander for a couple of months.

After a decent start to my round this morning, which went downhill pretty sharpish, I got thinking about my biggest blow-up on the golf course (apologies if this was already done after Adam Scott in the open, Westwood at Wentworth).

Mine was last year in a club tournament... was 19 handicap at the time (was a bit high but just hadn't played in many tornaments at the time).
Standing on the 16th tee, 6 over par...never got under 80 before so was sweating a bit. Par 5 island green metre high rough right and left (no real expectation of finding your ball if you go in) but lots of fairway. The driver was on fire so didn't hesitate to pull it out... pulled one left in the thick stuff, sliced my 1st provision right into the thicker stuff, 2nd provisional left, and so on...finally dolly one down the middle for 11 (my playing partners not doing very well at trying to hide there pleasure). Could this be why rounds are taking too long?! I think it was just stubbornness that kept me using the driver... it just had to work eventually!

Well, as luck would have it I did manage to find the first ball but none of the rest...it was a miracle and I was saved... until it took me a couple to get out of the rough, dumped a couple in the water and ended up with 11, could have been worse I know...

So now I'm 11 over... still not too bad.. lucky escape to be honest...however the 17th was to follow...
Par 4, water all down the left. twice in the water rubbish around the green and another 11... a forced smile to my German playing companions and my nerve in tatters...