• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

The Footie Thread

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 15344
  • Start date Start date
Apparently because he's got his hand pushed down on the ball that means he's in control of the ball.

The 2 hands on the ball rule is a myth.
 
fair enough to me he dropped the ball and reached out at full stretch and for a snapshot had his hand on it
Sky timed it as 1/12th of a second ?. The point is though, he doesn't have to be in control, he just has to have his hand on it.

Below is lifted from the BBC website.

Here's what the laws of the game say...
A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball with the hand(s) when:
  • the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) or by touching it with any part of the hands or arms except if the ball rebounds from the goalkeeper or the goalkeeper has made a save
 
Top