Substitute of another ball while playing hole Rule 6.3.b

Guy at mine white ball off the tee.
Yellow ball into the green
Then PINK ball for putting.
He likes the lower compression ball to putt apparently.
He took a fiver off a pp who challenged him on the rule.

He would not be allowed to change the ball on the green as he is replacing the ball in it's original position.

edit
I see others have said this already.

I see later on you say he is/was taking relief from tine holes. If he changes the ball on every hole I would question it, it is highly unlikely that he is in a tine hole on every single green.
 
Last edited:
He would not be allowed to change the ball on the green as he is replacing the ball in it's original position.

edit
I see others have said this already.

I see later on you say he is/was taking relief from tine holes. If he changes the ball on every hole I would question it, it is highly unlikely that he is in a tine hole on every single green.
Yes it was a winter sweep so no big deal.
But if he is in a tine hole does he have the option of changing balls if he moves his ball ?
That’s the one we could not find an answer to.
 
Yes it was a winter sweep so no big deal.
But if he is in a tine hole does he have the option of changing balls if he moves his ball ?
That’s the one we could not find an answer to.
16.1d. Relief for Ball on Putting Green
If your ball is on the putting green and there is interference by an abnormal course condition, you may take free relief by placing the original ball or another ball .....

E-4 Relief from Aeration Holes
Purpose. Aeration holes do not fall within the meaning of holes made by the maintenance staff. Therefore players are not permitted to repair them on the putting green (see Rule 13.1c) or take free relief from them in the general area, but such holes can interfere with the proper playing of the game. If the Committee declares aeration holes to be ground under repair, a player may find it impractical or impossible to obtain complete relief.

Therefore, when recent aeration holes may significantly interfere with the lie of the ball or area of intended swing, the Committee can choose to give relief as it would for ground under repair but exclude relief for interference to the player’s stance. This Local Rule should be withdrawn when the aeration holes have healed enough to avoid significant interference.

Model Local Rule E-4
“If a player’s ball lies in or touches an aeration hole:

(b) Ball on Putting Green. The player may take relief under Rule 16.1d.

But interference does not exist if the aeration hole only interferes with the player’s stance or, on the putting green, on the player’s line of play.
 
I would !
But it turns out he was correct. See post 25 from the rules guys.
Good to have the rules guys here credit where it’s due.
...yes...but when on a green only if his ball lies in or touches an aeration hole. Otherwise when on the green ...No. I would be 'rather surprised' if his ball at rest on the green was in such a position on every green...possible of course.

I am not sure that I would wish to be putting with a different ball on different greens and it was down to luck whether the ball I putt with on one green is different to that I used on the previous green.
 
...yes...but when on a green only if his ball lies in or touches an aeration hole. Otherwise when on the green ...No. I would be 'rather surprised' if his ball at rest on the green was in such a position on every green...possible of course.

I am not sure that I would wish to be putting with a different ball on different greens and it was down to luck whether the ball I putt with on one green is different to that I used on the previous green.
I suppose you could have the same make of ball but in different colours.
I think it was more proving a point as someone said he could not do it.
As you say he could but only when in a tine hole.
Bizzare what some golfers do.
 
Top