Rules quiz

evahakool

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
704
Location
scotland
Visit site
So after reading Old Skiers suggestion we should have a look at the R and As quiz here's the results of mine.

Easy 6/10

Moderate 8/10

Difficult 2/10

Must say the rule about "Ball embedded in a orange" had me stumped :D
 
where can I take the quiz? I already know my knowledge will be shocking....
 
I honestly do not know of you are joking about a ball in an orange. It sounds ridiculous, but then again it would surprise me if there was a ruling on it.
 
Easy 9/10

Moderate 7/10

Hard 4/10

Better than I thought!
 
Easy - 9
Moderate - 7
Hard - 4

Not too bad, but just goes to show that we are probably breaking rules left, right & centre, without even realising it:mad:
 
Easy 9/10
Moderate 7/10
Hard 8/10

One interesting one was regarding a loose stone broken from a wall in a hazard being removeable. Makes me wonder on a recent ruling we had.

In a recent round one of the players with us was in a hazard behind our 7th green. In the hazard is a waste pipe (plastic 6 inch diameter) coming out of the side of the ground as a drainage aid into the hazard. The players ball had come to rest on top of the pipe. Is he entitled to relief and if so what relief?
 
I'm not sure I agree with this...

A player starts his downswing and the clubhead separates from the shaft making it impossible to make contact with the ball. The player is deemed to have made a stroke. - TRUE

A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball. When the player started his downswing, he had a conforming club. See Decision 14/3 in the Rules Explorer.

What about if he adjusts the flight of his down swing like Na has done several times claiming he was not comfortable so pulled out before impact? Couldn't a person in the situation above claim the same due to the sudden change in weight?!
 
Top