Radical thought - Pass Level 1 Rules test or you're not allowed to play in comps??

IanM

Journeyman Pro
www.newportgolfclub.org.uk
I've been playing for about 30 years. Consider myself "yer average club golfer" who maybe has travelled a bit more than average. I would never consider myself a Rules Buff, but hope I know enough to get my in 99% of situations. As mentioned in the other thread, in order to test this, I took the R&A Level 1 on-line test this week. I passed, but I couldn't tell you the Rule Numbers! :)

I reckon most players could get the 60% Pass Rate without going through the course material.... or could they? ;) There was nothing outrageous or unusual in there. So how would you do? How many ordinary folk like me even knew the thing existed? I certainly didn't.

If you went straight to the Test without reading the course material, there are 50 multiple choice questions to do in an hour, but I think you can click through it all in about ten minutes! But that said, the material before it was pretty user friendly and (even I thought) worth a look.

Here's a mad idea, maybe everyone should be passing Level 1 before they are allowed to play in club comps! They could even link your R&A sign-on to your CDH Number. :eek::eek::eek: (slightly tongue in cheek, but just imagine it!)

Now where did I put my tin hat?

evemccc

Visit site
I've been playing for about 30 years. Consider myself "yer average club golfer" who maybe has travelled a bit more than average. I would never consider myself a Rules Buff, but hope I know enough to get my in 99% of situations. As mentioned in the other thread, in order to test this, I took the R&A Level 1 on-line test this week. I passed, but I couldn't tell you the Rule Numbers! :)