Rules quiz

One interesting one was regarding a loose stone broken from a wall in a hazard being removeable. Makes me wonder on a recent ruling we had.

In a recent round one of the players with us was in a hazard behind our 7th green. In the hazard is a waste pipe (plastic 6 inch diameter) coming out of the side of the ground as a drainage aid into the hazard. The players ball had come to rest on top of the pipe. Is he entitled to relief and if so what relief?

see Note 1 to 24-2 for the answer to the latter (no relief). There are differences between the treatment of IO's in bunkers and water hazards.
 
8/10
9/10
8/10

I might be a rubbish golfer but at least I seem to know how to play! lol
 
I go on them regularly as I find it's a good way to learn some more obscure rules.

Easy 10/10
Moderate 8/10
Hard 7/10

Not bad.
 
8/10
8/10
5/10 2 were just guesses tho

Sample of the ones wrong that surprised me

Player DQ in a handicap comp can win gross prize , surely a DQ is DQ .. guess the DQ must have to do with the handicap on the card , not clear why the competitor was DQ'd in the Question ..
An observer is someone appointed to assist a referee , i thought anyone watching would be considered observing ? wrong tho
 
Player DQ in a handicap comp can win gross prize , surely a DQ is DQ .. guess the DQ must have to do with the handicap on the card , not clear why the competitor was DQ'd in the Question ..

I got that one wrong too, assumed a DQ was a DQ! i suppose does it depend on why they were DQ'd?
 
Sample of the ones wrong that surprised me

Player DQ in a handicap comp can win gross prize , surely a DQ is DQ .. guess the DQ must have to do with the handicap on the card , not clear why the competitor was DQ'd in the Question ..

the questions are nearly all the exact wording of a decision - in this case I suspect the wording of the question would have included some, or all, of this -

"Q.In a stroke-play event, a competitor played off a higher handicap than that to which he was entitled. Although the event was primarily a handicap one, there was also a gross prize, and the competitor concerned had the lowest gross score.

The competitor was disqualified from the handicap competition under Rule 6-2b, but he claimed the gross prize. Should he receive the gross prize?"

unless it was a new ultra tricky one that included 'can he win the gross prize'; to which the answer is a conditional one as indicated.
 
The rule that states you can't lift ob posts if interfering with your stroke i got wrong,knowing you can lift fairway posts,so wrongly assumed you could do the same with ob posts.

But the rule I couldn't understand why it should be is ,if a ball is on the line between markers on a water hazard so some of the ball is on the fairway you are deemed to be in the hazard,if the same thing happens if your between ob posts my understanding is that the ball is on the fairway,so why the differance?
 
Top