• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Practice during round

In the 9 iron scenario, I suppose he could do that in medal, if he wasn't bothered about the comp. If Stableford, even if using a 9 iron he is still applying the correct rules when doing so. Same as taking an iron of the tee instead of driver to give yourself 9 iron distance to green, which might help you in the next hole which is a 9 iron for you. That wouldn't be considered practice, even though you are using it as practice. You could even admit to it and no problem, as you were legitimately playing the hole. In the first scenario, that would be fine as in no way is he gaining any advantage
He could be purposely blobbing holes to avoid a cut, ie manipulating his handicap.
 
What the hell are you talking about? :ROFLMAO:
Just demonstrating how weak your argument is by simply relying on an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place. In my extreme example, it's still an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place, so I'm just checking what other rule you can throw at me to say that that is not OK.
 
He could be. Obviously that can be difficult to prove, but if it becomes obvious the Committee have powers to investigate and take appropriate action
Which is why stating someone was practising on the course instead of simply reporting to the committee afterwards can cause issues.
 
Just demonstrating how weak your argument is by simply relying on an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place. In my extreme example, it's still an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place, so I'm just checking what other rule you can throw at me to say that that is not OK.
You've lost me mate. I've explained what the rule is whereas you seem to be in fantasy land.
 
Just demonstrating how weak your argument is by simply relying on an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place. In my extreme example, it's still an illegal drop and playing from the wrong place, so I'm just checking what other rule you can throw at me to say that that is not OK.

No, i think your being daft now, you have been given excellent counters to why we think the OP was incorrect, if you need to come up with crazy scenarios then I feel youre on shaky ground.

And for the par 3 i'd simply assume he walked ahead and taken his next tee shot.
 
Penalty for playing the ball from the wrong place (i.e. dropping it where he stood instead of replaying previous stroke) is two penalty shots. So he takes his 2 penalty shots, completes the hole, blobs it obviously, then moves onto the next hole. Job done.

So, for a two shot penalty might you could take your illegal drop next to the pin and score a 4 (every hole) .Cracked the game at last!

I think we should stick to the question.
 
So, for a two shot penalty might you could take your illegal drop next to the pin and score a 4 (every hole) .Cracked the game at last!

I think we should stick to the question.
No that kind of drop is DQ in stroke play other than in Stableford where it is a zero score for the hole which is what most people think has happened without recourse to stating that strokes after constitute practice. However we must await a definitive answer.
 
Let’s put this illegal drop nonsense to one side. He did not take any sort of drop. He gave up on his tee shot and knocked one down happy in the knowledge that he had blobbed the hole. The ONLY question is whether hi strokes on that hole were practice ones or not. Everyone has an opinion but nobody has the answer.
 
Let’s put this illegal drop nonsense to one side. He did not take any sort of drop. He gave up on his tee shot and knocked one down happy in the knowledge that he had blobbed the hole. The ONLY question is whether hi strokes on that hole were practice ones or not. Everyone has an opinion but nobody has the answer.
Whatever you think his intentions were is irrelevant. He's entitled to finish the hole and that's what he did. I would have done the same as him if I couldn't be bothered to walk back to the tee. We play golf for fun. If someone then tried to give me two penalty shots on the next hole, I wouldn't give them the time of day. That is a scumbag move.
 
Let’s put this illegal drop nonsense to one side. He did not take any sort of drop. He gave up on his tee shot and knocked one down happy in the knowledge that he had blobbed the hole. The ONLY question is whether hi strokes on that hole were practice ones or not. Everyone has an opinion but nobody has the answer.
I'm sorry but it is not nonsense, it may or may not be correct. Most people who play stableford do so in the belief that they can play on and compete the hole . If you have lost a ball you can put another one into play . If you do so in an illegal manner you are penalised which is what the chap thought he was doing. You have not blobbed on a hole merely from losing your tee shot at that stage you can go back and replay it. The action of dropping another ball in a grossly incorrect position causes the blob not the tee shot.
 
Whatever you think his intentions were is irrelevant. He's entitled to finish the hole and that's what he did. I would have done the same as him if I couldn't be bothered to walk back to the tee. We play golf for fun. If someone then tried to give me two penalty shots on the next hole, I wouldn't give them the time of day. That is a scumbag move.
It's attitudes like that that stop many golfers raising the issue of any rules breach whatsover, in the off chance that they may be incorrect and they get that sort of reaction. Your attitude is an absolute disgrace.
 
Whatever you think his intentions were is irrelevant. He's entitled to finish the hole and that's what he did. I would have done the same as him if I couldn't be bothered to walk back to the tee. We play golf for fun. If someone then tried to give me two penalty shots on the next hole, I wouldn't give them the time of day. That is a scumbag move.

Of all the people airing their thoughts on the subject you are the only one being offensive, that probably says a lot.
 
Quick question to people who believe this should be a two shot penalty

Would you penalise someone if they said “take your time” when someone for example said “I’ll just finish that “
 
Quick question to people who believe this should be a two shot penalty

Would you penalise someone if they said “take your time” when someone for example said “I’ll just finish that “
Irrelevant to this topic. You are asking "would we enforce a rule or not?" rather than "is the rule correct?"

Does this mean that you think it is technically a 2-shot penalty, but you just wouldn't call it on the player?
 
From the R&A.
In this case the ruling is very straight forward. "As he’s not followed the correct procedure by going back to the tee, then he doesn’t score any points on the hole. Rule 5.5a would apply as the result has already been decided."

I am discussing other scenarios with my contact.
 
Last edited:
It's attitudes like that that stop many golfers raising the issue of any rules breach whatsover, in the off chance that they may be incorrect and they get that sort of reaction. Your attitude is an absolute disgrace.
There is a difference between 'raising a breach' and actually looking for ways to penalise players unnecessarily in order to pee them off.
 
In this case the ruling is very straight forward. "As he’s not followed the correct procedure by going back to the tee, then he doesn’t score any points on the hole. Rule 5.5a would apply as the result has already been decided."

I am discussing other scenarios with my contact.
Although, that's not the point. 5.5a is based on "Whilst Playing the Hole". The question is, had the hole already been competed once the player decided not to play on (legitimately)? If the answer to that was yes, then 5.5b would apply, and the penalty stated under 5.5c
 
Top