• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Practice during round

That's what I reported that the R&A said.
I'll await clarification from them myself. Although, they normally only restrict replies to Golf Club Committees for specific rule breaches in a comp, to avoid having to deal with hundreds of comments from us normal people. You've done well to get an official reply.
 
No it wasn’t your post said he could be purposely blobbing holes to avoid a cut (see below) this is what I answered.
Which was in answer to 2 other posts! You need to read the previous 2! ie, the scenario I raised.:rolleyes:
 
I'll await clarification from them myself. Although, they normally only restrict replies to Golf Club Committees for specific rule breaches in a comp, to avoid having to deal with hundreds of comments from us normal people. You've done well to get an official reply.

Is this a joke?

You got an answer and just because it was against your opinion you question the legitimacy of the response.

The guys & girls who provide rulings on here are very experienced so I am not surprised he managed to get an answer directly from them.
 
I'll await clarification from them myself. Although, they normally only restrict replies to Golf Club Committees for specific rule breaches in a comp, to avoid having to deal with hundreds of comments from us normal people. You've done well to get an official reply.
Are you doubting my integrity? My involvement with the R&A and USGA goes back many years.

Incidentally, given that the following words are in the book, under just what circumstance would they be relevant?
These are not practice strokes: Strokes made by a player in playing out a hole whose result has been decided.
 
I'll await clarification from them myself. Although, they normally only restrict replies to Golf Club Committees for specific rule breaches in a comp, to avoid having to deal with hundreds of comments from us normal people. You've done well to get an official reply.
You've just had clarification from the R&A

This matter is now resolved. No penalty should have been applied.

Very interesting read though.
 
Is this a joke?

You got an answer and just because it was against your opinion you question the legitimacy of the response.

The guys & girls who provide rulings on here are very experienced so I am not surprised he managed to get an answer directly from them.
Firstly, I have no idea who I am talking to on this forum. Secondly, myself and others have seen issues in the wording that suggest there could be an issue. At no point have I been demanding that anyone accepts my position, and if there is no penalty, I'd be delighted for that to be confirmed. Also, forgive me that I don't immediately accept an answer as someone states "the source is a rules official / R&A, etc." because I've no way of clarifying that. If I knew the person, then at least I would know their integrity, but even then I don't know if any rules official is answering the exact scenario in the OP or a slightly different scenario that was put forward.

Don't get angry simply because I have yet to be convinced. Relax and just get on with your life happy in the knowledge you know something that I do not. No harm done.
 
For goodness' sake, folks. You've got the answer from the R&A. And, @Swango you can certainly take it that if Rulefan states that an answer is from the R&A, then it is. But then I suppose you want verification that if I say you can rely on Rulefan, you'll want verification that what I've said is reliable :)

By the way, to correct a couple of matters from the thread. a) No player can impose/apply/levy a penalty on another player. b) You can in certain circumstances drop a ball on the putting green.
 
For goodness' sake, folks. You've got the answer from the R&A. And, @Swango you can certainly take it that if Rulefan states that an answer is from the R&A, then it is. But then I suppose you want verification that if I say you can rely on Rulefan, you'll want verification that what I've said is reliable :)

By the way, to correct a couple of matters from the thread. a) No player can impose/apply/levy a penalty on another player. b) You can in certain circumstances drop a ball on the putting green.
What circumstances can you drop on a green?
Just curious.
 
Are you doubting my integrity? My involvement with the R&A and USGA goes back many years.

Incidentally, given that the following words are in the book, under just what circumstance would they be relevant?
These are not practice strokes: Strokes made by a player in playing out a hole whose result has been decided.
Not at at all, don't take it personally. We don't know each other, so hopefully you agree it is dangerous to just accept peoples word. You don't know me, so I also don't expect you to take my word for anything I might say, I don't take that personally. Incidentally, I'm a handicap secretary and been very involved in the Committee for years, and have taken an interest in the rules for just as long. I also admit that I don't know them all, but I always will read them in detail, especially when specific issue like this arise.

If it can indeed be confirmed, which I will still hold judgement on (apologies), would you at least concede that in the following statement "These are not practice strokes: Strokes made by a player in playing out a hole whose result has been decided", there is still clearly confusion by some by what they mean by "playing out a hole", when elsewhere in the rules they indicate that the hole is already complete in Stableford once the player picks up their ball. I would think that would at least be worth an extra Interpretation, as this post clearly indicates it is a very divided topic
 
I find it quite sad that almost everyone posts that no rule has been broken and QUOTE from the rule book, Rulefan, a well respected and knowledgeable person on here actually gets a ruling from the R & A and stil its doubted to be correct. I know that the OP and Swango may not want to lose face but there really is a time when a THANK YOU, I GOT IT WRONG is needed and move on.
 
I find it quite sad that almost everyone posts that no rule has been broken and QUOTE from the rule book, Rulefan, a well respected and knowledgeable person on here actually gets a ruling from the R & A and stil its doubted to be correct. I know that the OP and Swango may not want to lose face but there really is a time when a THANK YOU, I GOT IT WRONG is needed and move on.
See Comment #191
 
I'll await clarification from them myself. Although, they normally only restrict replies to Golf Club Committees for specific rule breaches in a comp, to avoid having to deal with hundreds of comments from us normal people. You've done well to get an official reply.

I’m sorry but whilst it’s been a heated debate that response is poor

Rulefan I believe is a qualified rules ref , possibly works within the county and has had a direct answer from R&A yet you dismiss it ?

Come on that’s just not right is it - the rule guys on here are very knowledgeable in their own right but also have links to the R&A- do you expect to get a different answer ?
 
Agreed, I suppose at least it be said that we've largely remained on topic :)
I wouldn't admit to that, but I think others have, whilst others have genuinely expressed their belief that I am wrong without the need to get personal about it. But, if the R&A now say it is OK, at least I now know that when I've had a mare start to a hole, I can just drop a ball down anywhere on the fairway and hopefully get the swing going before the next hole, or at least get rid of one other horror shot :)
 
I’m sorry but whilst it’s been a heated debate that response is poor

Rulefan I believe is a qualified rules ref , possibly works within the county and has had a direct answer from R&A yet you dismiss it ?

Come on that’s just not right is it - the rule guys on here are very knowledgeable in their own right but also have links to the R&A- do you expect to get a different answer ?
I don't dismiss it, I don't know it, nor has rulesfan ever said in this that he is a qualified rules ref? Had he done, at least he is explaining his position on the back of his experience. Did you not say yesterday you spoke to a rules official yesterday? You can't expect me to simply believe you as I have no idea who you are? As I said to rulesfan, that is not me trying to cause you offence, it's just a fact and I don't expect you to simply believe any factual statement I make
 
Top