Player teed off before rest of group had completed previous hole

Interesting discussion. What if the next hole was a bit of a walk away, round a corner and behind trees. Then, what if a player left his group to finish the hole, went to next tee on his own and teed off. As they didn't witness him hit this shot, I guess they have to trust he didn't tee off, hit a stinker, and then just hit another one before they got there and call it his original ball (of course, the same may well be true even on same hole, if player hidden away in the undergrowth)?

Certainly not great etiquette, and seems open to interpretation as to whether he is still in the same group, or has effectively left his group to be a 1 ball (as on different holes), only to let them rejoin him again.
 
Yeah at swagrass.

He ran from the 17th tee onwards. Was another top, can't recall his name. Was so out of breath he duck hooked it straight left!
I don't believe that the PGATour allows them to tee off before the entire group has completed the previous hole. Run to the next tee while others are putting, yes. Tee up a ball, yes. Hit the ball when last putt rolls into the hole, yes.
That's what I've seen while refereeing on the Tour when they know the horn is going to blow due to darkness.
And in the Sabbatini-Ben Crane situation, Sabbatini did finish the hole while Crane was still playing his second shot, but then sat on the bench and waited for Crane to finish. He did not tee off the next hole until Crane finished the previous hole.
 
I'm not really convinced either way. The Rule starts by saying 'he must remain in his group'. That suggests that he cannot leave the group to play on his own. Making strokes on a different hole to his 'group' sounds like playing on his own.
It is only the second clause that introduces the concept of joining anther group. In effect the committee could be permitting changes of markers. However, the wording does not permit a sole player because his score cannot be 'marked'. And that I believe is the crux.

I was wondering as couple of rounds back the three ball in front of us took an eternity to reach the first green - and were grimly slow on the green. But as they wandered aimlessly off the green one of the three went straight to the next tee and tee'd off - before the other two had cleared the green though they had finished the hole. He then waited... It looked strange and I wondered a bit...

However he had clearly immediately recognised dire slowness of his partners - and he was right. On the 2nd his two partners were deep in the boondocks and almost straight away he waved us through. Good man :)
 
Another possibility is the old chestnut of heavy rough before a ditch / water hazard, for instance.

If no-one else sees his shot go in the ditch/hazard, we're back to the "virtually certain" argument. He could just walk down there and give it the old "well it must have went in there", so I can play 3 from here. Fellow PP then fins his ball in the rough 5 seconds later..........
 
Top