• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Penalty?

Eh? I'm asking the question? If the penalty is for practising on the course and we weren't on the actual course, then no, no penalty.
When we play our 9 hole comp qualifier, it consists of measured holes 1 to 8 then we walk back and play the 15th. We're not allowed to play any of the holes in between, as it's considered practising on the course.
But we can continue on and play 16,17 and 18 if we want, because the comp has finished at the 15th.
 
Last edited:
i certainly wouldnt give myself a penalty there, although i would note it. I wonder what the penalty would be for playing the hole completely and therefor playing out of sequence? Inclined to say if the rule states playing from the wrong tee it doesnt really cover playing the wrong hole
 
i certainly wouldnt give myself a penalty there, although i would note it. I wonder what the penalty would be for playing the hole completely and therefor playing out of sequence? Inclined to say if the rule states playing from the wrong tee it doesnt really cover playing the wrong hole
I agree (if I've understood you correctly). The rule quoted for 'playing outside the teeing ground' I think assumes that you are actually on the correct hole. Playing the wrong hole is something else altogether.
 
Rule 1a says "you should play the course as you find it" which I understand means(in part) in hole order.

Rule 6.1a says "You have started a hole when you make a stroke to begin the hole"

Rule 6.1b for stroke play "when starting a hole, if you play a ball from outside the teeing area (including from a wrong set of tee markers on the same hole or a different hole)

So if you dont play in the right order and tee off on the wrong tee it's a penalty, I dont see how this can be arguable
 
Orikoru, I'm not sure you'd fall foul of teeing off from outside the teeing area, given the hole you teed off from was not part of the designated course? However, you'd likely fall foul of hitting a practice shot between the play of two holes.
 
Rule 1a says "you should play the course as you find it" which I understand means(in part) in hole order.

Rule 6.1a says "You have started a hole when you make a stroke to begin the hole"

Rule 6.1b for stroke play "when starting a hole, if you play a ball from outside the teeing area (including from a wrong set of tee markers on the same hole or a different hole)

So if you dont play in the right order and tee off on the wrong tee it's a penalty, I dont see how this can be arguable
Ah there it is. That's what I was looking for. Fair enough.

Bloody stupid rule though.
 
Not really..
As has been said if it had been a par 3 then all 4 players would now have an idea as to what shot to hit...or not hit.
And "advantage" doesn't really come into many rules.
Kicking your ball from point a to point b is a penalty as I'm sure you'll agree.
The rules don't care of you've kicked it out of the rough or into it...
Back to the OP..I shall take a piccy of the tee tomorrow.
As you will see, one of them should have noticed there were on the wrong hole.
 
This happened on the 5th and final day of our golf trip to France this year. The leading 2 for the week went out as a 2ball first off, with 4 x 4 balls following afterwards (in standing order for the week), in standard stableford scoring. We were the 2nd group out, the first 4ball and as we were playing the 17th we noticed that the first group out were playing down another hole, let's call it the 5th, rather than the 18th which runs alongside it...

We shouted out to them that they were playing the wrong hole and eventually they understood what we were saying so trudged back to the 18th to start again. It was decided that a 2 shot penalty was awarded to each of them, which resulted in someone else, from my group, winning the whole week!!

We thought it was a little harsh and the guy who received the 2 stroke penalty would have won if it wasn't for that wasn't too happy.
 
At the end of the day, there is no point in saying you wouldn't take the penalty because it's ridiculous. How many people in club comps get DQ'ed week in, week out for not signing their card. Quite a handful, and I imagine 99.9% of the time it is simply down to forgetfulness rather than there being a disagreement with the score, or there being an error in the score having not been checked. So, silly mistake but you just have to take it on the chin like everyone else.
 
This happened on the 5th and final day of our golf trip to France this year. The leading 2 for the week went out as a 2ball first off, with 4 x 4 balls following afterwards (in standing order for the week), in standard stableford scoring. We were the 2nd group out, the first 4ball and as we were playing the 17th we noticed that the first group out were playing down another hole, let's call it the 5th, rather than the 18th which runs alongside it...

We shouted out to them that they were playing the wrong hole and eventually they understood what we were saying so trudged back to the 18th to start again. It was decided that a 2 shot penalty was awarded to each of them, which resulted in someone else, from my group, winning the whole week!!

We thought it was a little harsh and the guy who received the 2 stroke penalty would have won if it wasn't for that wasn't too happy.
But that means they were inadvertently playing a hole they had already played once?? How did they not notice that? :LOL:
 
2 of our 3 ball teed off to a wrong green at Forfar golf club before a green keeper told us it was the wrong green.

As it was a social game I said we would just play again with no penalty, there was no way I would impose a penalty for this.

But if it was a comp. you would just have to accept the penalty.
 
Top