• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Penalty?

Orikoru, I'm not sure you'd fall foul of teeing off from outside the teeing area, given the hole you teed off from was not part of the designated course? However, you'd likely fall foul of hitting a practice shot between the play of two holes.
I thought you could practice between the play of two holes as long as it wasn’t from a penalty area.
 
I thought you could practice between the play of two holes as long as it wasn’t from a penalty area.

. Restriction on Practice Strokes Between Two Holes
Between two holes, a player must not make a practice stroke.

Exception – Where Player Allowed to Practise Putting or Chipping: The player may practise putting or chipping on or near:
• The putting green of the hole just completed and any practice green (see Rule 13.1e), and
• The teeing area of the next hole.

But such practice strokes must not be made from a bunker and must not unreasonably delay play
 
This is the view from the 4th green towards the 15th tee

Pics taken but the stupid system won't let me upload them...
View from the 4th green is the back of a 5ft high, 4ft wide sign. There is a faded arrow painted on a tree:rolleyes: showing the way to the 5th but in the wrong light you'd miss it.
Bit the giveaway is standing on the tee. You're right next to this dirty great sign with 15 in 5 inch high numbers - and as they left their bags on that side, they had to walk past the sign to get to them.
I've suggested a sign or two would help but I doubt anything will get done..
Ian, a wee tip i got from Maninblack [ Bill ] , if you can email the pictures to yourself and save , they will automatically be resized , then you can post them on the forum. (y)
 
1st pic is from the 4th green
2nd pic looking back towards where bags would have been left.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190823_111502_784.jpg
    IMG_20190823_111502_784.jpg
    137.2 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_20190823_111554_989.jpg
    IMG_20190823_111554_989.jpg
    225.6 KB · Views: 20
But they're not playing the hole are they. They haven't teed off the 15th tee onto the 5th fairway to make it shorter or whatever. In essence they haven't teed off the 5th at all, rather than 'teed off from the wrong area'.

Exactly! The rule you are saying they broke is assuming they are playing the hole (I.e. Incorrectly).
They are not playing the hole at all. How does it assume they have made an action which in any circumstance could be construed that they have gained, or sought to gain , an advantage ?

I wouldn't want to win any competition because of their "rule transgression", where otherwise one of them would have won.
 
Exactly! The rule you are saying they broke is assuming they are playing the hole (I.e. Incorrectly).
They are not playing the hole at all. How does it assume they have made an action which in any circumstance could be construed that they have gained, or sought to gain , an advantage ?

I wouldn't want to win any competition because of their "rule transgression", where otherwise one of them would have won.

Post #30 explains
 
Rule 1a says "you should play the course as you find it" which I understand means(in part) in hole order.

Rule 6.1a says "You have started a hole when you make a stroke to begin the hole"

Rule 6.1b for stroke play "when starting a hole, if you play a ball from outside the teeing area (including from a wrong set of tee markers on the same hole or a different hole)

So if you dont play in the right order and tee off on the wrong tee it's a penalty, I dont see how this can be arguable

Well, Christ, how much of this rule making includes intent?
Take rule 6.1a above
"....when you make a stroke to begin the hole. "

Could not the player on the wrong hole argue that he did not make a stroke
to begin the hole
I.e. he did not intend to begin the 15th ( though that's where he was )
Or even more to the point , Did he make a stroke to begin the 4th ?. How could he? He was nowhere near it.?
😀
 
Well, Christ, how much of this rule making includes intent?
Take rule 6.1a above
"....when you make a stroke to begin the hole. "

Could not the player on the wrong hole argue that he did not make a stroke
to begin the hole
I.e. he did not intend to begin the 15th ( though that's where he was )
Or even more to the point , Did he make a stroke to begin the 4th ?. How could he? He was nowhere near it.?
😀

No

It doesn't matter, the rule penalises a player for teeing off the wrong tee AND the wrong hole.
 
Well, Christ, how much of this rule making includes intent?
Take rule 6.1a above
"....when you make a stroke to begin the hole. "

Could not the player on the wrong hole argue that he did not make a stroke
to begin the hole
I.e. he did not intend to begin the 15th ( though that's where he was )
Or even more to the point , Did he make a stroke to begin the 4th ?. How could he? He was nowhere near it.?
😀
The player was teeing off in order to begin the next hole in the sequence he was required to play (ie the 4th). It doesn't matter from where he happened to place and hit the ball, it simply wasn't the teeing area of the hole he was supposed to play. It could have been 6" or 60 yards away. He was not in the place the rule required him to be.
 
The player was teeing off in order to begin the next hole in the sequence he was required to play (ie the 4th). It doesn't matter from where he happened to place and hit the ball, it simply wasn't the teeing area of the hole he was supposed to play. It could have been 6" or 60 yards away. He was not in the place the rule required him to be.

I stand corrected. The penalty would have to be taken. I usually defend the rules of golf, even though they can be most draconian, but those writing them may wish to consider sometimes the words of Descartes.😀
 
I stand corrected. The penalty would have to be taken. I usually defend the rules of golf, even though they can be most draconian, but those writing them may wish to consider sometimes the words of Descartes.😀
How would he have written a rule to cover this situation? :unsure:
 
I once teed off in the wrong direction. At Royal County Down. There was precious little fairway to be seen in any bloody direction. Was March and a little used tee I think.
 
Top