Orikoru
Tour Winner
Eh? I'm asking the question? If the penalty is for practising on the course and we weren't on the actual course, then no, no penalty.On the basis of what's already been said , what do you think?
Eh? I'm asking the question? If the penalty is for practising on the course and we weren't on the actual course, then no, no penalty.On the basis of what's already been said , what do you think?
The penalty isn't for practicing on the course .read the rule posted at the start of the thread.Eh? I'm asking the question? If the penalty is for practising on the course and we weren't on the actual course, then no, no penalty.
That rule begins "If a player who is starting a hole.." - if you haven't even found the correct hole then you haven't started the hole have you.The penalty isn't for practicing on the course .read the rule posted at the start of the thread.
😂 I'm outWarming up nicely ...Any jesuits on the forum?![]()
When we play our 9 hole comp qualifier, it consists of measured holes 1 to 8 then we walk back and play the 15th. We're not allowed to play any of the holes in between, as it's considered practising on the course.Eh? I'm asking the question? If the penalty is for practising on the course and we weren't on the actual course, then no, no penalty.
I agree (if I've understood you correctly). The rule quoted for 'playing outside the teeing ground' I think assumes that you are actually on the correct hole. Playing the wrong hole is something else altogether.i certainly wouldnt give myself a penalty there, although i would note it. I wonder what the penalty would be for playing the hole completely and therefor playing out of sequence? Inclined to say if the rule states playing from the wrong tee it doesnt really cover playing the wrong hole
Ah there it is. That's what I was looking for. Fair enough.Rule 1a says "you should play the course as you find it" which I understand means(in part) in hole order.
Rule 6.1a says "You have started a hole when you make a stroke to begin the hole"
Rule 6.1b for stroke play "when starting a hole, if you play a ball from outside the teeing area (including from a wrong set of tee markers on the same hole or a different hole)
So if you dont play in the right order and tee off on the wrong tee it's a penalty, I dont see how this can be arguable
But that means they were inadvertently playing a hole they had already played once?? How did they not notice that?This happened on the 5th and final day of our golf trip to France this year. The leading 2 for the week went out as a 2ball first off, with 4 x 4 balls following afterwards (in standing order for the week), in standard stableford scoring. We were the 2nd group out, the first 4ball and as we were playing the 17th we noticed that the first group out were playing down another hole, let's call it the 5th, rather than the 18th which runs alongside it...
We shouted out to them that they were playing the wrong hole and eventually they understood what we were saying so trudged back to the 18th to start again. It was decided that a 2 shot penalty was awarded to each of them, which resulted in someone else, from my group, winning the whole week!!
We thought it was a little harsh and the guy who received the 2 stroke penalty would have won if it wasn't for that wasn't too happy.
Are you saying that if a referee or the committee in a comp said you got a penalty, then you would refuse to take it? How does that work?Not a chance.