Jason.H
Well-known member
Imagine if a younger player was easily influenced and you changed were shots were given . You beat him but then he tells others in the clubhouse about it. It wouldn’t look good. The index is set and should be adhered to.
I get that…and I’d deserve all the condemnation I’d get as well as possible censure by my club.Imagine if a younger player was easily influenced and you changed were shots were given . You beat him but then he tells others in the clubhouse about it. It wouldn’t look good. The index is set and should be adhered to.
I’m not trying to be sneaky or tricky…I’m just wondering what the rules say. And this from 3.2c(2) indicates to me that what I am asking about is a failure to apply a stroke on a hole, no mention of deliberate, result of hole would stand, and so in respect of the rules we’d be OK.
And on integrity, I fail to see how doing something in a knockout matchplay context that is agreed by both parties and does not break any rule can in any way be outside the spirit of the game. Indeed it might be fully in accordance with the spirit of the game.
Of course I understand giving shots on holes according to SI, but that’s not my question.
In a club matchplay competition can the players ignore stroke indexing
But in truth if I am giving one shot in a match who is to tell me that I can’t give my opponent in the match a shot on a hole if I so choose…so if he gets a 4 on the hole I say that it’s a 3 as far as I am concerned, and on the SI 1 hole he declines to take the shot he’s due.
Honestly @jason my view in fairness or not - that was the discussion that I heard - it’s the principle under the rules determining and mandating holes shots are given that I’m asking for clarification on.Most clubs all over the uk have the odd shorter than normal hole due to ground conditions , temporary greens, winter tees etc. Imagine if every course had to rewrite there indexes for every change..some change daily.
You have a short hole it’s still a challenge and it’s the same for both players. What’s not fair about it?
....... And we’ve already established in previous replies that a player can decline to use a shot on a hole when one is due him - it’s his prerogative;
Post #5 tells you what Rule it is. Rule 5I (4))Breaching the Terms of the Comp I get…but what rule would we be breaching given what @SR has posted in respect of Rule 3.2c(2).
I’m not thinking of doing it, but the circumstances made me wonder if I could.
TBH I’m still not sure that in a match a match pair couldn’t actually just decide to ignore the formal giving/receiving of shots and just agree between themselves holes where shots are given/received. There have been plenty of discussions on here where things can be different in matchplay. So for instance is there any rule that says that in a match the shots that can be given/received according to handicaps MUST be given and received.
If the conditions were utterly rubbish we might just say on the 1st…let’s just play it off scratch. It‘s an agreement made between the competitors that impacts no other player - unless there is a rule that tells us that such an agreement is not allowed in matchplay.
In each case, they could, but any agreement to do this before or during the round is a clear breach of the rules.Honestly @jason my view in fairness or not - that was the discussion that I heard - it’s the principle under the rules determining and mandating holes shots are given that I’m asking for clarification on.
As it happens, if my opponent said to me on the 1st tee…’it seems daft and unfair that you are giving me a shot on the 17th (as it is) and so if you want you can give me the shot on another hole - up to you’…to which my reply would be ’thankyou but no thanks, I am looking to get the match over and done with before the 17th’.
My question is around that scenario (@Colin)
Rule 3.2c(2) indicates that a failure to apply a shot that is not corrected simply means the result of the hole stands. And we’ve already established in previous replies that a player can decline to use a shot on a hole when one is due him - it’s his prerogative; likewise it might well then appear that it is the prerogative of one player to grant his opponent a shot on a hole when he is not due one.
Far be it for me to question the knowledge and understanding of the expert rules folk on here (and I hesitate to do so), I am surprised that there is quite so much ‘reading between the lines‘ and interpretation and implication of specific words, plus application of what seems to be common sense and standard practice, as opposed to what the rules actually say.Already established? Where?
And if it were the case that the player could so decline, how would the Committee resolve a situation where the opponent declined to accept the declining?
I don't think you can take 3.2c(2) as allowing a player deliberately not to apply a stroke. It is about a failure to do so.
I’m sorry…but what rule on the application of strokes in matchplay in accordance with the SI would be breached. What is being quoted to me here does not seem to mandate that strokes can only be given and taken in accordance with the SI and they must all be given and taken. Of course I know how it works and I have never until now considered doing anything differently, and even now I’m not.In each case, they could, but any agreement to do this before or during the round is a clear breach of the rules.
It’s not. It’s temporary until probably end March as a significant stretch of fairway is being relaid after remodelling of the fairway for drainage work.Surely if the shortened hole is a regular occurrence in winter, then the committee should look at getting a winter course set up and rated?
Now we know that your club has incorrectly not stipulated where strokes must be taken, it puts a new complexion on it. However, had they done their work correctly the rules I quoted in #34 would be applicable.I’m sorry…but what rule on the application of strokes in matchplay in accordance with the SI would be breached. What is being quoted to me here does not seem to mandate that strokes can only be given and taken in accordance with the SI and they must all be given and taken. Of course I know how it works and I have never until now considered doing anything differently, and even now I’m not.