Local Pro-Ams...

Imurg

The Grinder Of Pars (Semi Crocked)
Visit site
The Zoo is hosting a regional PGA Pro-Am at the end of August and they're looking for people to sign up to play in it.
Now,at first glance, I might have been all over this.
Coffee, bacon roll, 18 with a Pro, dinner and prizes.....
But they want £90....
None of the Pros are "household names" , some may know some of them from local clubs but I've not heard of any of them.
The club gets virtually nothing, apparently, from the day except a cut of the fee for food...plus any drinks before or after...

Sounds expensive.....is it?
I've no experience of these type of Pro-Ams..only ones I've played in have been through winning competitions

We're being asked to, effectively, pay 90 quid for a bacon roll, a cuppa, company of a Pro for a round and dinner after, maybe a prize if we're lucky......
I'm not convinced that's value for money.....

moogie

Tour Winner
Visit site
Pretty standard pricing I'd say
Normally approx £90-120 per player in my area too
Never played 1, but know mates that have
You're paying really for the pros prize money that's all, and the fantastic experience of playing with a local club pro, that may or not, beat your score
( a mate of mine beat his pros score by 10 last time, ageing pro, rarely plays )

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
They were supposed to be doing a seniors pro-am at our place this year, was 30 quid for members but that didnt include food or 50 quid for non members, think its been cancelled now tho

Pro ams tend to range from anything from 50 quid to several hundred i dont mind paying to go and play a decent course in the process but not for my home course, also prefer to do it when i enter with the pro (ie i know the pro beforehand rather than being allocated one)

As much as the Zoo is a nice enough course 90 quid is utterly ridiculous for a members entry imho

D

Deleted member 15344