Haotong Li penalty

fundy

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
27,053
Location
Herts/Beds border
Visit site
Seems hes been penalised 2 shots for his caddie standing behind his line whilst chipping onto the 18th green. Dropped him from tied 3rd to tied 12th. Ouch!!!!!
 
From the R&A/USGA

Reasons for Change:
 Although a player may get advice from a caddie on the shot to be played, the line of play and similar matters, the ability to line up one’s feet and body accurately to a target line is a fundamental skill of the game for which the player alone should be responsible.
o Allowing a caddie to stand behind a player taking a stance so as to direct the player how to line up undermines the player’s need to use his or her own alignment skills and judgment.

 This practice has been controversial for other reasons:
o Many players and others consider it to be distracting.
o It may delay play, such as when players wait for the caddie to confirm they are correctly aligned as part of their set-up routine.

 We believe that an appropriate line is drawn between allowing advice from a caddie and prohibiting the caddie from being involved in directing the player in the act of taking a stance to play the ball.
 
Okay, I'll say it. Why is that an issue? I appreciate there must be a rule but why? What benefit does the player gain?
Current rule (14.2b)
 When a player is taking a stance, the player’s caddie is allowed to stand behind to help the player line up to the target and confirm that the player is correctly aligned.  The caddie must then move away before the player makes the stroke; otherwise the player is penalized if the caddie is positioned on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball when the stroke is made.  The current prohibition will be extended so that, once the player begins taking a stance for the stroke, and until the stroke is made, the player’s caddie must not deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason.  There will be no penalty if the caddie accidentally stands on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball, rather than in trying to help in lining up.  Although a player may get advice from a caddie on the shot to be played, the line of play and similar matters, the ability to line up one’s feet and body accurately to a target line is a fundamental skill of the game for which the player alone should be responsible. o

Allowing a caddie to stand behind a player taking a stance so as to direct the player how to line up undermines the player’s need to use his or her own alignment skills and judgment.  This practice has been controversial for other reasons: o Many players and others consider it to be distracting. o It may delay play, such as when players wait for the caddie to confirm they are correctly aligned as part of their set-up routine.  We believe that an appropriate line is drawn between allowing advice from a caddie and prohibiting the caddie from being involved in directing the player in the act of taking a stance to play the ball.6.
 
So they must have deemed that the caddy was helping alignment as there's no penalty if they accidentally stand there.....
 
Eek! Expensive mistake. I didn’t know that rule ... but I rarely have the services of a caddy for my club’s seniors roll up. 😂
 
The chat between them afterwards must have been interesting. Was the caddy aligning him or was he just wanting to see the shot from behind? Either way whilst I didn't know the rule I'm not a professional caddie. Embarrassing for both of them.
 
Just seen it on Twitter..
Caddy is moving away before Like takes his stance.
He's not lining the player up.
Seems a strange one to me...
 
what a horror decision that really is
He isn’t behind him when he’s got the club behind the ball. So surely he can’t be classed as helping to line him up?
 
European tour really need to release some confirmation as to what ruling was made and why, be nice if they could address ignoring slow play at the same time but not holding my breath
 
Oh dear.....
Caddy is a local from north east too
He Used to play (as a junior) at a previous club of mine
Having seen the clip just posted then I think the pressure is off the caddie. The officials need to explain why they enforced this as it doesn't look clear to me, or a few other posters.

Hopefully one of our rules guys on here can clarify. There may be a detail we are missing.
 
Apparently as soon as Li starts to take his stance it’s deemed to be addressing the ball and the caddy should be nowhere near the line of the putt ( behind ) - it’s very marginal and close , if he moved away about a second before then it would have been fine
 
Having seen the clip just posted then I think the pressure is off the caddie. The officials need to explain why they enforced this as it doesn't look clear to me, or a few other posters.

Hopefully one of our rules guys on here can clarify. There may be a detail we are missing.

I can only think that when the player is standing next to the ball, even when not lining up, the caddy can’t be behind them!?!
 
Top