Gravel path

Do you not get relief to somewhere a full swing can be made?

No. You get Nearest (not nicest!) point of relief from the condition you are getting/taking relief from. If that happens to be in the middle of a bush/hedge, then tough, you have another decision to make. You can then drop within 1 club length of NPoR. If you would then have to have your foot on the path to swing, then you either hadn't taken full relief in the first place, or you need to re-drop.

But as Rulefan states, don't pick your ball up until you have worked it all out, as you could well have to go back to where you last played - I've seen that happen!
 
No. You get Nearest (not nicest!) point of relief from the condition you are getting/taking relief from. If that happens to be in the middle of a bush/hedge, then tough, you have another decision to make. You can then drop within 1 club length of NPoR. If you would then have to have your foot on the path to swing, then you either hadn't taken full relief in the first place, or you need to re-drop.

But as Rulefan states, don't pick your ball up until you have worked it all out, as you could well have to go back to where you last played - I've seen that happen!

Right so when its impossible to drop behind the path without the path interfering with the swing then where do you go then?
 
Right so when its impossible to drop behind the path without the path interfering with the swing then where do you go then?

You then look for the NPR getting full relief from the path without giving nearer the hole
 
Sometimes the allowed relief in a rule just does not work. In that ;case you either play it as it lies or declare it unplayable and take relief under rule 28 with a one stroke penalty.
 
Right so when its impossible to drop behind the path without the path interfering with the swing then where do you go then?

Davey, imagine the hedge or road wasn't there. If that was the case, could you drop inbounds on the far side of the path without the path interfering with your stance/swing?
 
Right so when its impossible to drop behind the path without the path interfering with the swing then where do you go then?

Davey, it's been said many many times, but that drop is not the NPR if you have your foot on the path.

From your picture I can see how you can make a drop (not nearer the hole) that means your foot is touching the path !
 
Davey, imagine the hedge or road wasn't there. If that was the case, could you drop inbounds on the far side of the path without the path interfering with your stance/swing?

Beat me to it!

@Davey. What do you mean by 'impossible'? Because that's not the same as 'impractical'!

And as AF posted, sometimes the 'relief from the condition' provides no real 'relief from the situation'!
 
Davey, imagine the hedge or road wasn't there. If that was the case, could you drop inbounds on the far side of the path without the path interfering with your stance/swing?

If the hedge wasn't there then you would be OOB, so no you couldn't drop without the path interfering.
 
Beat me to it!

@Davey. What do you mean by 'impossible'? Because that's not the same as 'impractical'!

And as AF posted, sometimes the 'relief from the condition' provides no real 'relief from the situation'!

You would have to stand on the path to get a club near the ball, a human can't stand in a hedge lol

Imagine the hedge is a wall you can't stand in it.
 
Unless your dropping the ball OOB then it won't matter then.

You would be dropping the ball in the hedge then the only way to make a stance would be to stand on the path. You would also possibly have to throw the ball in the hedge rather than drop it as I'm sure its taller than man.
 
You would be dropping the ball in the hedge then the only way to make a stance would be to stand on the path. You would also possibly have to throw the ball in the hedge rather than drop it as I'm sure its taller than man.

Davy, once again I can't see how you could have taken full relief from the path, plus a possible club length ... And still be capable of having one foot on the path.

If you have 'thrown' the ball into the hedge, how can you possibly be capable of playing a stroke?
 
Davy, once again I can't see how you could have taken full relief from the path, plus a possible club length ... And still be capable of having one foot on the path.

No there is no club length relief from the path to the hedge... More like 30cms if that, the hedge literally touches the path.
 
You would be dropping the ball in the hedge then the only way to make a stance would be to stand on the path. You would also possibly have to throw the ball in the hedge rather than drop it as I'm sure its taller than man.

The rules do not guarantee that you will be able to take full relief. If you can't, and in this case it certainly seems you can't, then you must find an alternative.
The alternatives are to play it off the path with no penalty or declare it unplayable wit a 1 stroke penalty.
You then have three choices.
1) Drop it within 2 clublengths not nearer the hole. That may or may not get you off the path. If that puts you on the path again, you may be able to get an npr that does get you clear of the path.
2) Drop the ball on a line from the hole, through where you ball lies as far away as you like. In this case an unlikely prospect.
3) Play again from where you last played.
 
You would be dropping the ball in the hedge then the only way to make a stance would be to stand on the path. You would also possibly have to throw the ball in the hedge rather than drop it as I'm sure its taller than man.

Davey, as I said, if the hedge wasn't there, is it possible to drop the ball inbounds (never mind if you would have to stand OOB)? Your not getting relief from the path to somewhere where you could make a shot from. You're getting relief to the nearest point where the path isn't interfering. Unfortunately that point appears to be in a hedge. Because you realistically can't stand in the hedge to play the shot you either have to play the ball from the path or else go back to the tee. You can't decide to go the nearest point where you can get a swing.
 
Would the red blob on the original pic be classed as closer to the hole?

By the look of your drawing no it wouldn't.

I'm giving up on this thread now as it keeps going around in full circle. The solutions have been mentioned many times ... Rulefan latest post spells it out completely.
 
Top