Footprint in bunker

clubchamp98

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
20,519
Location
Liverpool
Visit site
Had the bad luck to land in a footprint right under the back lip of a bunker.== Guy had raked the bunker but left 1 print as he exited probabaly oversite but very annoying.=== I decided to call unplayable but could not go back or sideways not nearer the hole .== Went back to spot original shot was played from and dropped S & D . Was there any other option as I think I chose only option open to me.
 
Sound like you exhausted the options available within the bunker which were 2 club lengths or back on line with the flag while still dropping in the bunker. The only other option under the rule was S&D.

Bar the unplayable the only other option I'm aware of would be to attempt to play it.

If by taking S&D your line was back across the bunker you wouldn't be able to rake it prior to the stroke Decision 13-2/29.
 
Last edited:
Impossible to say for certain without having seen the situation, but I think I'd have been tempted to have a hack at it where it was. Even if you only move it a couple of feet I'd rather play my next shot from a greenside (if it was?) bunker than from back in the fairway.
 
Nope! those were your options.

If by taking S&D your line was back across the bunker you wouldn't be able to rake it prior to the stroke Decision 13-2/29.

It's more likely that 13-2/28 is the applicable decision, but the effect is the same - Don't rake the bunker until you are past it!
 
Top