• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Bunker flooded - Relief?

Cor Blimey😀! Course it does address the issue. That’s what we’ve been addressing, much to KenL’s irritation 😀.
It goes like this…..you hit a ball into the bunker, when you get there it’s in water,.
You look where to drop it in the bunker. There’s lots of water. You can only drop it in the bunker towards the edge. So you do. But that means your stance is on the edge, in the general area.( If there wasn’t an area available to drop the ball in then you drop out under penalty in accordance with the sketch in the rule.)

So, you are stood on the edge ready to hit the ball out of the bunker. You came up with the question of…..what if standing there, you find yourself standing in water.
Can I get relief from that situation, free relief, and work it so that I’m able to hit the ball from a new position outside the bunker.
The experts here are saying that the players option are
1. Water in stance - tough. Play the ball from the bunker while. You’re stood in the GA water if you don’t want a penalty. OR
2. Drop the ball outside the bunker under penalty in accordance with the sketch in the rules and play from there.

Sorry it’s longwinded, but your post suggests you didn’t see the ‘order’ of events of taking relief.
@Swinglowandslow does go on a bit. 😜
 
Top